nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   highmem ( >= 1 Go) compatibility ? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=5393)

alex31 12-20-02 05:55 AM

highmem ( >= 1 Go) compatibility ?
 
In order to use more than 920 Mo, the linux kernel have to be compiled with CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G. But when i compile the kernel with this option, i am unable to use nvidia driver, due to memory mapping problem at the driver level :

NVRM: failed to map registers, aborting!!
Dec 15 11:03:50 ifar kernel: 0: NVRM: rm_init_adapter failed

I have tried with mandrake 9 flavors of 2.4.19 and 2.4.20 kernel

thanks for any help

Alexandre

Klaus-P 12-20-02 08:33 AM

You might try to change the highmemory kernel mapping option

under "USER ADDRESS SPACE SIZE" , try "2 G" , "1 G is default setting"

alex31 12-23-02 04:28 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Klaus-P
You might try to change the highmemory kernel mapping option

under "USER ADDRESS SPACE SIZE" , try "2 G" , "1 G is default setting"


thanks for th reply, but i don't see anything
like "USER ADDRESS SPACE SIZE" in the
.config file ... ?

perhaps this option has been dropped in
recent release of kernel ?

amfou> grep -i user /usr/src/linux/.config
# CONFIG_APM_IGNORE_USER_SUSPEND is not set
# User Modules And Translation Layers
CONFIG_EXT3_FS_XATTR_USER=y
CONFIG_EXT2_FS_XATTR_USER=y

amfou> egrep -i '[0-9]G' /usr/src/linux/.config
#CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y
# CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G is not set


Alexandre

Klaus-P 12-23-02 06:30 AM

If you edit the " .config "-file manually
......

CONFIG_MICROCODE=m
CONFIG_X86_MSR=m
CONFIG_X86_CPUID=m
# CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y
# CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G is not set
CONFIG_HIGHMEM=y

!!! here is the passage... !!!

# CONFIG_1GB is not set
CONFIG_2GB=y
# CONFIG_3GB is not set
# CONFIG_05GB is not set
CONFIG_HIGHIO=y

I guess you have

" CONFIG_1GB=y " in your .config file

Now try to edit as shown above. But it is recommanded to use either "make config" or
"make menuconfig" and there is this or should be this "address space size option"

Klaus

alex31 12-23-02 09:00 AM

thanks, but i dont see this CONFIG_?GB
in my .config, and with make xconfig i don't see anything like that.

what is your kernel version ?

Alexandre




!!! here is the passage... !!!

# CONFIG_1GB is not set
CONFIG_2GB=y
# CONFIG_3GB is not set
# CONFIG_05GB is not set
CONFIG_HIGHIO=y

I guess you have

" CONFIG_1GB=y " in your .config file

Now try to edit as shown above. But it is recommanded to use either "make config" or
"make menuconfig" and there is this or should be this "address space size option"

Klaus [/b][/quote]

Klaus-P 12-23-02 09:28 AM

I'm running linux kernel 2.4.18.

Maybe in your kernel Documentation of version 2.4.19 you get a hint about any changes in the configuration options.

crimsun 12-25-02 01:48 AM

As far as I know, the option for 2GB is only in -aa -based kernels (SuSE, etc.). You'll need to patch your kernel source with Andrea's patches and recompile the kernel if you wish to use this option.

Noth 12-25-02 02:41 AM

I'm using CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G with the nVidia drivers and have no problems, something else has to be wrong.

And the user/kernel space split ratio wouldn't have anything to do with a kernel mode only driver.

kamy 12-26-02 04:31 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here's what i got when trying to compile the kernel module, i have 1.25G of ram and highmem=4G in my kernel

Andy Mecham 12-30-02 05:36 PM

kamy: You have unresolved symbols. This usually means your kernel source tree's configuration doesn't match your running kernel. Please make sure you're running the kernel that matches your source's configuration; you cannot use a kernel module compiled for one kernel with a different kernel.

--andy

alex31 12-31-02 04:52 AM

In my case, i have no problem compiling the driver with a CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G kernel,
just some warning about arithmetic on pointer.

I can insmod the driver, but i have error message about memory mapping whan i launch the X server.

Test have been made with kernel suuplied with mandrake 9.0 (2.4.19)

Alexandre

TheOuch 08-20-03 10:10 AM

Is this a SUSE problem?
 
Are you running a SUSE kernel? I have the same issues under Suse 8.2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.