nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   FX5200,5600 & ABIT NF7-S-v2 mobo AGP not enabled (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=56708)

stars1234 09-17-05 11:24 AM

FX5200,5600 & ABIT NF7-S-v2 mobo AGP not enabled
 
I just put together a new AMD system, using my 1st AGP card(s): a Gainward FX5200, FX5600 in an ABIT NF7-S-v2 mobo, 1.2 gig AMD Athlon CPU, OS: Win98SE.

Before, I was using a very old system, ISA cards for video & audio. They worked find.

I'm having a hard time getting the Gainward nVidia drivers to go, since bieng the card manufacture's version of the nVidia drivers, designed for the cards, they claim to do a better job.

I finally got everything going and it seems to be working at least it's better than my old system; but that may be because I went from a 233 CPU to a 1.2 gig processor and 512 megs of RAM.

As far as I can tell the mobo BIOS does not give me an enable/disable AGP option, only to set the speed.

I have in the BIOS, it to look for the AGP slot first, then I set the speed to 8x, with the fast settings enabled.

I can switch the video through its modes using the Gainward nVidia software.

However, both Everest and Sandra, report that AGP is set for 4x and that it is Not enabled. Also, they both show the AGP slot as being empyty.

I suppose the AGP, if it is running is bridging in to PCI 1?

Any ideas what's going on here? How do I get my AGP enabled, the slot showing it being used, and the AGP running at 8x?

Thanks

rohit 09-17-05 03:14 PM

Re: FX5200,5600 & ABIT NF7-S-v2 mobo AGP not enabled
 
Try rivatuner.
EDIT: also try using nv's latest WHQL drivers.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.