nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Nvidia Driver Rpm Question (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=576)

Big Booger 08-10-02 07:57 AM

Nvidia Driver Rpm Question

I am a Linux Noob, been using it for about 4 days now.
Running Mandrake 8.2
System:
Celeron 533mhz
256MB PC133 Ram
15 GIG HDD
AGP ASUS Geforce2ti 7700 64MB DDR RAM
etc...

No problems at all, really. Just the MorphGL screensaver runs like ballz. Anyway I have just a few questions:

One,
How do I check to see if I have the updated 29.60 Linux drivers installed? I used the RPMs from http://www.nvidia.com
The RPM installation went off without a hitch. I got the congratulations message on both installations. Now how can I tell I have them installed.
When I check the mandrake control center I get a message like this:
Quote:

Vendor: Nvidia Corporation
Model: Geforce DDR (generic) NV15 DDR (Geforce 2 GTS)
BUs Type: PCI
So I guess my question is am I up to date. I am think that the NV should say 29 as in NV29 DDR but I may be wrong...

If I am not up to date what steps should I take to resolve this issue.

Thanks for understanding and helping out a noob.
BB

Big Booger 08-10-02 09:38 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Guess I should post a few things concerning my installation. I am using KDE as my windows viewer.

Attached is a copy of the installation txt of my NVIDIA DRIVER using the rpm.
Please help if you can. I just want to know if I have installed it correctly.
Thanks
BB

Thunderbird 08-10-02 10:47 AM

That mandrake control center reads the card info from for example /proc/pci. It doesn't know anything about the nvidia drivers. To get the version of the drivers do: cat /proc/driver/nvidia/version.

Big Booger 08-10-02 11:27 AM

the only thing in the driver directory is a RTC file....
So what do I do now?
Thanks for the reply btw.
BB

r2d2d3d4d5 08-10-02 01:21 PM