nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Audio in Redhat 8.0 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=5799)

jeeptak 12-31-02 05:30 PM

Audio in Redhat 8.0
 
I have successfully got my Ethernet, Video to work, but for some reason it will not install my audio. I have a Athlon 1800 XP, GeForce 2, nvidia ethernet and sound. Any help as to why it will not work would be appreciated.
Thanks

volt 12-31-02 09:29 PM

Could you be more specific ? What sound card / audio chip do you have?

Chalnoth 01-01-03 01:49 AM

Well, he did say nVidia audio and ethernet.

I assume you have an nForce, jeeptak?

One of the most common problems is that the module auto-loading is not working. One workaround that people have found is to change all of the sound-slot-1 references in /etc/modules.conf to sound-slot-0.

If you can't seem to get the module to autoload, you can try loading it manually with the command: "modprobe nvaudio"

You can insert this command into the file /etc/rc.d/rc.local to have it execute each startup.

volt 01-01-03 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Chalnoth
Well, he did say nVidia audio and ethernet.

Oh yes, too much champagne ? :rolleyes:

I'm not sure but do nforce / nforce 2 drivers differer very much?

jeeptak 01-01-03 02:16 PM

Ok. I got sound working by modifying my /etc/modules.conf with the i810_audio and then did a /sbin/depmod -a and then /sbin/modprobe i810_audio. But when I reboot it doesn;t work. What do I need to modify so that it loads the modules at boot?

jeeptak

volt 01-01-03 11:31 PM

You need to add a line to your /etc/modules.conf which will load the module on startup. I'm not sure though, look at the other entries there. You can try those though:

alias sound-slot-0 i810_audio
alias sound-slot-0-0 i810_audio
alias char-major-14 i810_audio

Chalnoth 01-02-03 08:35 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by volt
Oh yes, too much champagne ? :rolleyes:

I'm not sure but do nforce / nforce 2 drivers differer very much?

They don't differ at all. The only difference is that the nForce2 device ID's are different, which means that drivers before 0248 will not work without tweaking.

Chalnoth 01-02-03 08:35 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by volt
You need to add a line to your /etc/modules.conf which will load the module on startup. I'm not sure though, look at the other entries there. You can try those though:

alias sound-slot-0 i810_audio
alias sound-slot-0-0 i810_audio
alias char-major-14 i810_audio

I think you need to use "nvaudio" to use nVidia's drivers (as opposed to i810_audio).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.