nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   What amps are needed for a 6800GT (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=58742)

BLOODUK 10-25-05 04:36 PM

What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
400 Watt Psu


+12V


0.2A


17.0A


+5% ~ -5%


120mV

Currently running at 12.10V

Would this be the cause of my horrible stuttering issue?

Redeemed 10-25-05 04:56 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
I wouldn't think so. Is this in an SLi setup? If so then possibly. Do you have a power connector connected to your 6800GT? What are the rest of your system specs?

SLippe 10-25-05 05:17 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
More specs please, like he said. What driver are you using? My 12v rail, according to my BIOS, is only running at 11.87 and I have no problems in my game. I have a 550w psu.

Ryker 10-25-05 05:18 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
20 amps minimum on 12 volt rail for 6800 series,For 7800 series its like 25 to 30 amps on 12v rail, There Power Hungry .
Look on sticker on side of PSU and read what the amps on on the 12v rail. and 17 amps are not enough .

BLOODUK 10-25-05 07:52 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ryker
20 amps minimum on 12 volt rail for 6800 series,For 7800 series its like 25 to 30 amps on 12v rail, There Power Hungry .
Look on sticker on side of PSU and read what the amps on on the 12v rail. and 17 amps are not enough .


Ooops shouldve said the psu is dual rail something like 12v1 15a , 12v2 16a
with overvoltage protection.. current volts are 12.06

Ryker 10-25-05 08:26 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
whats stuttering ? Games ? Post your sig,(your computer specs)

Amuro 10-25-05 09:42 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
A nice Onkyo amplifier should do it.

BLOODUK 10-26-05 04:29 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
amd 2400xp @ 2.2 being cooled by a volcano 11+
2GB Corsair xms3200 @ 400mhz 11,4,4,2.0
450Watt Psu with dual rail Updated psu for latest pci express cards
Abit nf7-s 1.0
XFX 6800GT AGP
Xfi creative labs soundcard
1x Samsung 7200rpm 8mb 120gb hard drive
1x dvdrw liteonit

Stuttering games http://www.tweaksrus.com/forums/inde...showtopic=2443

Reason i didnt post the specs is cause i gave up posting them
nobody was able to solve my problem , thus any day now
im getting a barton and abit nf7-s 2.0 for free

rohit 10-26-05 05:31 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
i doubt its becoz of the PSU.
What games are you getting stuttering in?

BLOODUK 10-27-05 06:59 AM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rohit
i doubt its becoz of the PSU.
What games are you getting stuttering in?

Civ 4
Serious sam 2 cutscenes
Quake 4
Age of empires 3(?)
Battlefield 2 awful stuttering and frame rate dives..

The stuttering DOES NOT happen when panning camera angles ie looking
around, but movement causes problems!

I have no artifacts and temps of the 6800GT never go over 52C when
gaming

rohit 10-27-05 05:23 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
the least you can try is change your PSU and check. i see you have a nf3 mobo. SO i think you should try these.
AGP rate set to 4x. check your games.
Try overcloking your card by 20 mhz on core and 40 on memory.
if doesnt solve, then try underclocking in the same proportion.
FastWrites off. Sideband adressing oFF. again try.
Use Driver version 66.93whql (most stable driver ever).
none work RMA your card. still doesnt work, Get a mobo with VIA chipset.

If you feel trying these things is stupid, have a look at the thread on nf3+6800GT stuttering solutions. this is just a collection of those suggestions.

EDIT: if you can borrow a Better PSU from someone you knw to test, it would save your cash.
Same abt the mobo, try your card on a friends mobo n check.

BLOODUK 10-27-05 06:12 PM

Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT
 
It does seem to be the mobo, i tried the radeon on it.. and it does exactly the same thing...... its an nforce 2 mobo aswell, im getting a free barton and
abit nf7-s 2.0 tomorrow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.