nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Dual 6600GTwoes... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=60195)

Slyder 11-19-05 01:32 PM

Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Now I am worried.

Ive been playing all my fave games on my new rig and have never liked the way it rendered the graphics. My old FX5700 was much more nicer when moving. My current 6600 displayed what could only be described as a ripple effect when moving which was maybe an inch in width and would travel up and down the entire lenght of the screen. This was very noticeable when sidestepping in front of a wall. I first noticed this on Doom 3 and FEAR. Tonight I am hoping to prove what I suspect. A faulty card. :( Note this effect would just stop if I stood still and everything would look fine.

While downloading a new driver for something, the screen on my monitor when blank and came back on. This happened near enough every 3 seconds (but the green light on the monitor stayed on it did not turn amber. Then the picture went all blue, it was like looking at the Matrix code in blue and finally a strange effect which I thought would be best desrcribed if pictured.

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/kevin.r.../Phot-0042.jpg

I am really tempted to just try another gfx card. I have never liked this so called upgrade but the card came with the m/b so it would be easier to bite the bullet on this one.

JellyStones 11-19-05 08:51 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
ok for your first problem with the tearing in games....is vsync turned on?

Slyder 11-20-05 03:35 AM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JellyStones
ok for your first problem with the tearing in games....is vsync turned on?

Tried both on and off in the games and I get the same result. :(

Slyder 11-20-05 12:52 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
next... :(

Salamandar 11-20-05 01:32 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Tearing in games Problem, I had this problem 4 years ago using 2 cards, one was a geforce3 and one was an ATI 9500 card.
All I did is replacing the card by another vendors, the Geforce 3 was Hercules switched to Gainward, the ATI 9500 was ATI switched to Herculese ATI 9700.
Vsync on or off didn't work at all.

mx125race 11-20-05 02:30 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
im not impressed with my 6600 coming from a 5200FX...

its might be faulty, hope u can sort it out...

Slyder 11-21-05 11:50 AM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Salamandar
Tearing in games Problem, I had this problem 4 years ago using 2 cards, one was a geforce3 and one was an ATI 9500 card.
All I did is replacing the card by another vendors, the Geforce 3 was Hercules switched to Gainward, the ATI 9500 was ATI switched to Herculese ATI 9700.
Vsync on or off didn't work at all.

Would my problem in games be classed as tearing then ? Im seriously considering buying a new 6600. :mad:

darkrider01 11-21-05 12:11 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
What resolution and refresh are your running your desktop and games at?

Just an idea, but I would take your cards out, switch their places, and reseat them. Put card one in slot 2, card two in slot one... Anyway, that is what I would try. I have seen reseating cards take care of lots of problems.

Salamandar 11-21-05 01:09 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Try to play using one card........ then try the other.

rohit 11-21-05 03:02 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
WHats your PSU like? Total watts, AMps on +12v rail, make?
And is this the gigabyte 3D1 card. that came bundled with ur mobo? (3d1 = 2 6600GT's on the same card)
This happens only in windows or even on startup?
2nd i would suggest to update the mobo BIOS. and re-seat the card.

Slyder 11-21-05 03:28 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Enermax 535 watts...
Rails EG535AX-VE FMA 2.0
+12v1 18A / +12v2 18A / 34A on the 12v rail in total.
-12v 0.8A
+5v 32A
+5v sb 2.5A
+3.3v 32A

I have only seen these funky colours once in windows, havnt seen them recently.

@ darkrider01 & Salamandar - My 6600 is a dual card. It has 2 cpu's on one card but unlocks all the SLI features. Resolution in games is normally default and I always play at 1024*768 (something my old FX5700 was very able to do)

rohit 11-21-05 03:37 PM

Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...
 
Yeh you have the 3d1 card.
http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/4...cie40af.th.jpg
ur prob. sounds pretty much similar of what i read earlier somewhere.
what that person did was accidentally update the mobo bios, and grafical curroption went away.
If the problem persists, you should RMA it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.