nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   How to enable 6XS and 8X antialiasing modes? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=6046)

spectre 01-07-03 07:50 AM

new FSAA modes 6xS, 8x. HOW?
 
hello, I just registered here in nvnews as i find these forums a good way of exploring your card's capabilities further.

I own a Point of View Ti4200 64MB o/ced @ 300/600 and I'd like to know how I enable these new FSAA modes. Just to try it. Can I enable them via registry? Also, !atuner supports these modes?

Also, I've heard about a registry tweak which allows for slight better AA performance (like 10%) without any significant loss of image quality. Anyone knows of this?

I'm using Riva Tuner for a while and I've started using its patch scripts, I managed turn my Ti4200 into a SoftQuadro4 700XGL with anti nvstrap protection and SQ4 script.
Anyone can describe what the other scripts do? like anisobooster.ogl etc..

Being a power user(sic!) for years, I'm overlimits so I registered here to share my knowlegde with you guys and vise versa.

Thx in advance

Tip1: Making low-level overclocking of your GF via a Nvidia editor(like Ray Adams Bios editor) allows for permanent overclocking of your GF card plus you don't mess with driver o/c (tell me coolbits) which as it overclocks your card increases memory timings for stability reasons(tell me artifacting). So if you're sure that your card can be stable enough at particular clocks, you'd better do o/c via bios.
This editor can also change signon message, change colour, enable/disable Fast Writes,Sideband Addressing and much more

EciDemon 01-07-03 08:10 AM

Welcome to the board :)

Wow thats news to me, didnt even know that GF 4 supported 6xs and 8x, I thoght only the new Radeon cards did that. I was pretty sure that the gf4 had the same AA as gf3 only more optimized. But I dont know for 100% sure as I only have a Gf3 ti 200 and havent been looking in to Gf4 much as Im planing to upgrade to something better than Gf4 next time I buy a new gfx card.

Nice tip btw. :)
Ill have to check it out cos it sound good. Any down sides to it ?

Ive never heard of a registy tweak for AA that gives abit better performance, You sure you dont have it mixed up with the Ansio tweak ? (that you can change in Rivatuner)

Kruno 01-07-03 08:49 AM

Use A-Tuner for changing FSAA settings from 2x-8x. :)

Cotita 01-07-03 09:05 AM

Re: new FSAA modes 6xS, 8x. HOW?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by spectre

Tip1: Making low-level overclocking of your GF via a Nvidia editor(like Ray Adams Bios editor) allows for permanent overclocking of your GF card plus you don't mess with driver o/c (tell me coolbits) which as it overclocks your card increases memory timings for stability reasons(tell me artifacting). So if you're sure that your card can be stable enough at particular clocks, you'd better do o/c via bios.
This editor can also change signon message, change colour, enable/disable Fast Writes,Sideband Addressing and much more

And why would I want to have a ti4200 overclocked to 300/600 when surfing the web, listening to mp3 or using Word?

I think its better to overclock only when you need to. Besides, some games are more overclocking friendly so you can push the card a little further. And don't forget that you can overclock the card higher during winter than summer, becuase of ambient temperature.

StealthHawk 01-07-03 03:30 PM

more info here if interested: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=4432 or http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=4626

i have not heard anything about an AA patch, only AF patch. but you already mentioned that. where did you hear about this AA patch?

mreman4k 01-07-03 08:32 PM

I hardly think any card below a Radeon 9700 Pro will be able to run 8x FSAA. the bandwidth just isnt there

thcdru2k 01-07-03 11:30 PM

Quote:

I hardly think any card below a Radeon 9700 Pro will be able to run 8x FSAA. the bandwidth just isnt there
at high res..lots of games run fine at 640x480 at 8xs and i only have a ti4200.

mreman4k 01-07-03 11:31 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by thcdru2k
at high res..lots of games run fine at 640x480 at 8xs and i only have a ti4200.
Why would you run a game at 640x480?:afro:

marqmajere 01-07-03 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by mreman4k
Why would you run a game at 640x480?:afro:
Nostalgia? Ask K.I.L.E.R. He should be able to answer that question better than all of us. :)

thcdru2k 01-07-03 11:57 PM

depends on the game really..sometimes low res and fsaa looks better than high res and no fsaa. although i can run at 640x480 and 8xs i choose not too..i prefer high res and af.

StealthHawk 01-08-03 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by mreman4k
Why would you run a game at 640x480?:afro:
some old games are resolution limited. so you have no choice.

Kruno 01-08-03 01:55 AM

Also it looks better to some people. :smoking:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.