nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Dell 8200 at 1600x1200? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=6100)

tvilot 01-09-03 12:52 AM

Dell 8200 at 1600x1200?
 
I recently purchased a Dell 8200 and put Linux (RedHat 7.2) on it. (specifically 7.2 for development reasons).

I have gotten the NVidia driver up and running just beautifully and I couldn't be happier except for one small thing:

When I run it at 1600x1200, the X display doesn't fit on the entire screen. It's not "virtual," either. That is -- if you move the cursor off screen, the display does not scroll over to follow it.

Works fine at 1400x1050.

I'll leave it at 1400x1050 if I have to, but my reading of postings in here suggests to me I should be able to run at full resolution.

Thoughts? :c)

dorkface 01-10-03 02:56 PM

actually i'm experiencing that very same problem... i don't have the 1450 in my xf86config so it just defaults down to 1024. hopefully someone who has resolved this issue will reply, i'm gonna keep searching and i'll post if i figure it out :(

tvilot 01-10-03 05:22 PM

1600x1200
 
Might actually be the amount of RAM in my video card. I thought it was 64. It's actually 32.

In Winblowz, it also does not come up (or allow) 1600x1200.

dorkface 01-10-03 05:26 PM

actually i've got 64mb in my video card... and in windows it does allow 1600x1200 (1900x1400 when i have a monitor plugged in). i can do 1600x1200 when the machine is docked (in linux) as well though... hrm...

Xevious 01-12-03 05:39 AM

can you post a copy of your XF86Config file?

Andy Mecham 01-13-03 08:27 PM

... and a copy of /var/log/XFree86.0.log...

--andy

kmcfadd 01-20-03 01:38 PM

I also can't get my 8200 into the higher rez's.....If there is anyone out there that is able to post their XF86Config file that would be very helpful.........
Thanks,
Ken
:banghead:

petrh 01-21-03 08:18 AM

option in cfg to disable bandwith check
 
I had similar problem on Dell Latitude C840. New nvidia driver 4191 logged message that bandwith is too small fo r16x12 . It worked on GF2MX ok though. So I had to put following in the XF86Config:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 Go 440"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "NvAgp" "1"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "1"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "1"
Option "renderAccel" "1"
# Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x960" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Hope it helps!

Petr

kmcfadd 01-21-03 10:06 AM

Thanks a bunch for the info, most of the lines you had, I had, but there were a few I didn't have.......Not sure though, but do I still need the section for the display???? If so, would you know the values I need to put in for those lines???? ie rez of the LCD....

Thanks again,
Ken


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.