nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Pny Fx6200 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=61531)

seeker 12-12-05 09:52 PM

Pny Fx6200
 
I'm going to replace a fried FX5500 card, and I noticed that Best Buy has the FX6200 on sale for $71.00. I know that it has a slightly faster clock speed, and an extra video connector, but I was wondering if there is a downside to this particular card? I know there are better, but they aren't in my budget.

Infinity666 12-12-05 09:59 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
the 6200 is a ok card but not for gaming, you wouldnt see much of a perfromance jump until you bought 6600gt/6800gt

johnkeel105 12-12-05 11:39 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
well overall speed isnt that great but shader model 2.0 is improved massively. If you want to be able to run games that have shader model 2.0 it is a better card then the fx5500

seeker 12-13-05 03:17 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
Since I'm being forced to replace several major components at once, I can't afford a better card, right now. Perhaps I can upgrade again soon. The FX5500 was okay, it hasn't given me any trouble on the games that I play, but it has given me a bit of problems running Linux.

Ruined 12-13-05 09:46 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
The 6200 murders the 5500 (5200) in every way thinkable. It's still not a really fast gaming card, but it gets the job done much, much better.

seeker 12-16-05 11:46 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
I bought the new card today, along with a new motherboard. I would be installing these, except I forgot one essential need...some Artic Silver. Thanks for the input.

seeker 12-19-05 08:52 AM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
Now, I'm really lost. I installed a new Gigabyte K8 Triton motherboard, and the new PNY 6200 video card, but all that I get is a black screen, not even a basic BIOS run. I have now tried 3 different motherboards of the same model, along with my old PNY FX5500, and now the PNY 6200. The cards were properly in inserted and locked down and the monitor works normally when connected to my laptop. The only thing that I can think of at this point is some kind of incompatability, but that doesn't seem as though it should happen between two major brand products. Does anyone have any ideas? Both boards are for AGP.

seeker 12-29-05 09:48 AM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
I have the system up and running now, the last problem was due to multiple power failures. However, I am having a problem with the 6200 when running some games, namely Halo and Jedi Academy...possibly more, but I haven't tried all of the games yet. With Jedi Academy, there appears to be a combination of the video freezing, along with sound loops. With Halo it was worse, but after reducing the game settings, it continued for a while with just some random shaking of the video, until it finally started acting like with JA and then crashing the computer all together. I downloaded and installed the 81.98 WHQL Nvidia driver, updating from the 77.77 driver that came with the card, but that did not help. I never had this sort of problem with my old FX5500, but then I have also replace more than that, so I'm not certain what to blame. I should be getting my RMA of the old card in a few days, so I will try that one again, to narrow down the field of possibilities. In the mean time, does anyone have any suggestions of something that might help?

Gentle 12-29-05 05:11 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
Motherboard GART driver for the AGP bus?

Gentle

seeker 12-30-05 12:55 AM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
I'm still trying to learn my way around this new motherboard, so I'm not certain of much yet. The motherboard Driver CD installed everything somewhat automatically. I remember a GART AGP for my old motherboard's Via chipsets, but the only thing that I find in the device manager, regarding AGP in the AGP Host to PCI bridge. I find nothing on the Gigabyte drivers page specifically for this, at this time, so I can only assume that it is up to date. There is a chipset driver, but the version number doesn't correspond with anything that I can find, and it has no date, so I do not know if it is newer or not.

Fathertime36 12-30-05 07:58 AM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
Curious...why didn't you get a nf4 mobo?, via is somewhat iff-er if you you know what I mean?!, does this model have onboard video? if so it needs to be disabled in the bios....I know, captain obvious here, but you would be surprised, people with sli mobos plugging a single card into the secondary pci-e slot instead of the primary or forgetting to plug in the supplemental power tongle etc...etc...we get all excited and over look basic stuff sometimes....the new card should be head and shoulders better then any thing from the FX nv30 generation, as I would hopefully like to look at it as the dark page in nvidia history, I think it is normal for it to take some time to learn your mobo layout, to me it is part of the fun....lol

seeker 12-30-05 04:07 PM

Re: Pny Fx6200
 
I think that you misunderstood, my OLD motherboard was a Via, but the new one is a nForce 3. I might have gone to the nForce 4, but I didn't see any that were for AGP. I wouldn't mind PCIe, except that I needed more PCI slots than any of those have.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.