nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   TV only "no usable configuration" (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62057)

ralfonso 12-22-05 09:23 PM

TV only "no usable configuration"
 
2 Attachment(s)
I'm trying to do a TV only display using S-Video on a GF3 Ti200.

(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

This happens both with the 8178 and 7676 drivers.

netllama 12-22-05 10:17 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
Why are you using the "ConnectedMonitor" option?

Also, please post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni

ralfonso 12-22-05 10:22 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
I got it to display after removing that option and rebooting with the cable connected at boot. Now I get slowly moving black bars, but X starts. I can't see the display.

ralfonso 12-22-05 10:28 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
1 Attachment(s)
here's the bug report. I changed my xorg.conf a bit and disabled the ConnectedMonitor option. This config gives me fast moving black bars. I found this config somewhere online. I was using the "poop" serverlayout (frustration obviously showing itself :)

netllama 12-22-05 10:34 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
Here's a problem:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No connected display devices detected; assuming 1 CRT

If you're only using a TV, that isn't going to work (as you're reporting). Does the same thing happen with 1.0-8174?

-Lonni

ralfonso 12-22-05 10:41 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
same result, same speed of black bars with 8174 and 8178

ralfonso 12-22-05 10:42 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
It's showing my login prompt on the TV though. Starting X results in the moving black bars.

netllama 12-22-05 10:44 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
What kind of motherboard are you using, and which BIOS version?

Thanks,
Lonni

ralfonso 12-22-05 10:50 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
ECS P6ISA-II
2.0g 4/28/2001

netllama 12-22-05 10:56 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
Is there a newer BIOS available?

-Lonni

ralfonso 12-22-05 11:00 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
Yes. The description for it reads as such:

-Update AWARD BIOS new code.
-Update Pentium III. sting to Intel Pentium III.
-Change register value for the stability.

I'd hope it's not the bios as this is a floppy-less system.

(why must all flash utilities require a dos boot disk?, ARGH)

ralfonso 12-23-05 09:36 PM

Re: TV only "no usable configuration"
 
Updated to the most recent BIOS version. Same result.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.