nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Just stumped (first time on Linux) (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=63197)

NortonAntivirus 01-11-06 10:53 PM

Just stumped (first time on Linux)

1 Attachment(s)
Ok this is my first time using Linux so please bear with me.

I can not load the NVidia drivers. I downloaded them and tried to run the in the root Terminal but all I get is an X Server error and I do not know how to fix it. This is a different problem from the last X Server post because I tried to enter "init 3" in the root terminal and it did nothing. Also can someone guide me through installing the driver because NVidia's site had a very bad walk-through. I am using Desbian Linux just if it makes a difference. Remember I am new to Linux so don't count on me to know how to use this stuff.

debian_penguin 01-12-06 02:09 AM

Re: Just stumped (first time on Linux)

Hi NortonAntivirus!

Some time ago I posted a walkthrough for installing nvidia drivers under Debian. You can find it here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...440#post755440

There sould be everything you need from scratch. However, if you still need a hand, just ask!

Best,

d_p

NortonAntivirus 01-12-06 06:23 AM

Ok I got it to run but now it will not connect to NVidia's site and download something it needs. It did still install it but I cannot change the resolution to more than 640 X 480. And I cannot stand such a low res. >:P I now have a NVidia X Server Stettings program in my system tools but it helps very little of making the res better......

debian_penguin 01-12-06 06:46 AM

Hi!

Could you please post some of your system characteristics, your /etc/X11/xorg.conf, and the file /var/log/Xorg.0.log? Maybe we can gather some useful informations there. I also ask you if you can post the output of the command "glxinfo".

Thank you,

best,
d_p