nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=63279)

kaloskagatos 01-13-06 10:20 AM

Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...
 
Hello :) ,

I work on a program which runs on different platforms (HP, SUN, Linux, IRIX). I use it though an XServer emulator (Exceed3D) from a Windows2000 PC.

All worked fine untill today when I used a Windows PC with Exceed3D and a Quadro FX 540. Now the glReadPixels function returns strange values such as shown by the following code:


Code:

glReadBuffer( GL_FRONT );
glReadPixels ( xmouse-1 , ymouse-1, 3, 3, GL_DEPTH_COMPONENT, GL_FLOAT, z_picking );


whitch return on a well working station :

Code:

z_picking = (0.6561477, 0.6561477, 0.6561477, 0.6561477, 0.6561399, 0.6561399, 0.6561399, 0.6561399, 0.6561399)

and on the nvidia PC :

Code:

z_picking = (-1.222404e+37, -1.222404e+37, -1.222404e+37, -1.222404e+37, -5.576056e+27, -5.576056e+27, -1.222404e+37, -5.576056e+27, -5.576056e+27)

The consequence is that I can't locate a point in my openGl scene using the gluUnProject function, and I musn't change it...

What am I doing wrong, or is there a problem with the driver? Thanks a lot for the time you'll spend answering me, and forgive my poor english ;)

Greets,

Kalos

kaloskagatos 01-14-06 09:11 AM

Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...
 
Up (nana2)

marc 01-14-06 09:32 AM

Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...
 
The call looks ok, but the result suggests that the size of 'GL_FLOAT' is incorrectly
set/interpreted somewhere along the line, because the numbers look like 32-bit floats in 64-bit double spaces...
I normally only do GLReadPixels with GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE as type (which has
kept me out of trouble so far)

kaloskagatos 01-16-06 04:13 AM

Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...
 
Hi, you should be right but I've found it could be a bug from the driver or the openglLib...


http://www.rage3d.net/board/printthread.php?t=33777945

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...3733550&page=7

kaloskagatos 01-16-06 04:32 AM

Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...
 
I'm surprised this problem still exists... Does any one have a solution?

Marc, I've tried different combinaisons of type, nothing changes...

kaloskagatos 01-16-06 09:23 AM

Re: Quadro FX 540 and glReadPixels...
 
Any idea? :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.