nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=63318)

zigzag 01-14-06 05:25 AM

Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hello, have a pretty annoying problem - and cant seem to find out whats wrong - maybe someone have a suggestion i can try :)
I use twinview with two LCD's, one on DVI and one on VGA, the machine locks up randomly (usually within 2minutes at most 5minutes) after i start X.

My system is a HP w5295.no - a AMD X2 4200+ with 2gb ram. (cant find a newer bios then i have - 3.35) and a GeForce 6200 TurboCache gfx PCI-Express card.
I run a gentoo stage1 installation with very basic/mild CFLAGS.

Have tried vanilla 2.6.15 kernel, with smp, without smp, with preempt, without preemt, same for vanilla 2.6.14.6.
I also tried the pci=conf1 on kernel line, and i tried removing framebuffer support in kernel (as some suggested on gentoo forum) but still without luck.

I have tried different drivers, latest the 1.0-8178 with the patch from 11.01.06 - but the exactly same thing happends.
Tried the nv-driver, and it seems to work without lockup (3hour session).

I've ran the nvidia-settings to monitor the temperature on the gpu when it locked up, and most times its around 60C (its a fanless).
I can reproduce it very easily by running glxgears (usually 5-10seconds) and it either hardlock, give black screen or reboot.

The debug report is done with running X and switch to console, after a reboot when the system locked up.

Hope for reply!
Thanks in advance!
Best regards,
Chris.

zigzag 01-14-06 06:20 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
hmm, if i set Twinview in config to false, it seems to run stable.. -any suggestions?

ran 10minutes with glxgears now
bah, approx 15minutes and black screen :(

netllama 01-14-06 10:39 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
I have a few questions:
0) Have you applied these patches?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62021
1) Does this reproduce if RenderAccel is disabled?
2) Why are you using the ConnectedMonitor option?
3) What kind of motherboard & BIOS version are you using?

Thanks,
Lonni

zigzag 01-15-06 05:18 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
I have a few questions:
0) Have you applied these patches?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62021
1) Does this reproduce if RenderAccel is disabled?
2) Why are you using the ConnectedMonitor option?
3) What kind of motherboard & BIOS version are you using?

Thanks,
Lonni

0) Yes, they are patched in gentoo with the media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.8178-r2 package.
1) Yes, with and without twinview.
2) I saw this in another config file, i tested without it, still locks up.
3) I dont know what motherboard it is, its unbranded since its in a HP (i guess) - but it uses a ATI IXP 400 chipset and the bios version is 3.35.

Thanks so much for replying, this is driving me crazy :)

Best regards,
Chris.

zigzag 01-16-06 05:17 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
I now installed Windows XP to check that my machine actually is stable (hardware problems) - and it works great in XP (nana2)

Have anyone got the nvidia driver to work on a Ati IXP 400 chipset motherboard?

Regards,
Chris

bok1111 01-17-06 11:39 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zigzag
I now installed Windows XP to check that my machine actually is stable (hardware problems) - and it works great in XP (nana2)

Have anyone got the nvidia driver to work on a Ati IXP 400 chipset motherboard?

Regards,
Chris

I have same chipset, and same problem :(

zigzag 01-17-06 12:41 PM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
aha! maybe thats a good thing, a common factor!

Maybe nvidia guys can try this, even though its a competitor's chipset (wasnt intentional i bought it, i swear :D)

zigzag 01-18-06 05:44 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bok1111
I have same chipset, and same problem :(

what motherboard do you have exactly?

ardf69 01-18-06 08:29 AM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
Hi all,
I've the same problem (compaq pc). The chipset is an ati rs480 (Xpress 200P); the motherboard is an MSI 7093 OEM with bios 3.40 from hp.
I noted that the dpms hang the pc too.

Ciao Angelo

bok1111 01-18-06 02:37 PM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zigzag
what motherboard do you have exactly?

Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-K8RS482M

zigzag 01-18-06 03:11 PM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
Hmm.. i just found a old post about this same problem(http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show....php?p=780750), can Nvidia guys please comment on this problem?

zigzag 01-20-06 01:40 PM

Re: Nvidia 6200 +hard lockup
 
I put in a XFX Nvidia GeForce 6600 passive cooler, and now the lockups are gone!! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.