nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA FreeBSD (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   FreeBSD installation problem. Please help?! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=6359)

samandhi 01-16-03 10:46 PM

FreeBSD installation problem. Please help?!

I am new to FreeBSD, but have everything up and running. Well, all exept the Nvidia driver.

I have compiled and installed my kernel using the USER_LDT and SYSVSHM options. I also made sure that device agp, was in there also. I then installed the driver, and when rebooting I get a system stop at the mounting blah blah. It totally locks up and all I can do is to push the reset button on the tower.

I am using a GeForce 2 GTS w/32 mb ram, on an K7S5A Elite MB w/SIS chipset.
I cant say for sure but I wouldnt think it is something misconfigured in XFree86, as it doesnt even get that far (I dont have it set to auto boot anyhow). Does anyone have any ideas?

bwkaz 01-17-03 07:52 AM

"I get a system stop at the mounting blah blah"

What's the system mounting? The root filesystem, or other filesystems? Does this kernel that you compiled with USER_LDT and SYSVSHM (and AGP device support, I guess) enabled at least boot without the nVidia drivers?

I'm thinking it might be something like Mandrake 8's issues with reiserfs -- it didn't install an initrd, and it built reiserfs support as a module, so if you formatted / as reiserfs, there wasn't support in the kernel to mount it at boot time, and you'd get a "kernel panic: can't mount root device 03:05" on boot. But I don't know a ton about *BSD, so it may not be that -- indeed, that may not even be possible, I don't know.

samandhi 01-17-03 10:27 AM

Yeah, I dont think that is possible, but to answer your question, yes, it does boot just fine if I stop the boot, and unload the nvidia driver then boot with my regular kernel.