nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=64274)

JulianoRS 02-02-06 04:01 PM

black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
2 Attachment(s)
I am with problem when initiating the X, the screen is black and freeze. The LOG and the xorg.conf are annexed.

thx

Linux 2.6.15.2
Geforce 6600 (INNO3d) - using AGP (no PCI-e)

sorry for the English, I am using a translator. (nana2)

netllama 02-02-06 04:06 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
Please generate and provide an nvidia-bug-report.log. Also, what kind of motherboard are you using, and which BIOS version?

Thanks,
Lonni

JulianoRS 02-02-06 04:23 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
Please generate and provide an nvidia-bug-report.log. Also, what kind of motherboard are you using, and which BIOS version?

Thanks,
Lonni

Done

netllama 02-02-06 04:36 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
I have a few questions:
0) What kind of motherboard are you using, and which BIOS version?
1) Did you apply these patches yet?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62021
2) If you boot with the noapic and/or acpi=off kernel parameters, does that help at all?

Thanks,
Lonni

JulianoRS 02-02-06 06:02 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
I have a few questions:
0) What kind of motherboard are you using, and which BIOS version?
1) Did you apply these patches yet?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62021
2) If you boot with the noapic and/or acpi=off kernel parameters, does that help at all?

Thanks,
Lonni

0 - PCChips M863G
1 - before it did not have, but now yes
2 - Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=Linux2.6.15.2 ro root=1604 noapic acpi=off

nothing...

ps: in windows it functions normally.

netllama 02-02-06 06:27 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
Which BIOS version? If its not the latest, please update and test again.

Also the bug report that you posted seems to have been manually edited, as its missing several pieces of information (such as /proc/cpuinfo). Please provide another bug report that contains all the information without any editing.

Thanks,
Lonni

JulianoRS 02-02-06 09:43 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
Which BIOS version? If its not the latest, please update and test again.

Also the bug report that you posted seems to have been manually edited, as its missing several pieces of information (such as /proc/cpuinfo). Please provide another bug report that contains all the information without any editing.

Thanks,
Lonni

this everything is for making I to give up? ok Would be less laborious to speak that it does not know what is happening. I already send all log. (nvidia-bug-report.log)

foodude2 04-22-06 09:05 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
Hello,

I have exactly the same problem, and I'm just stucked with it... already send a bugreport (and you Lonni answered btw). The problem is that the card autodetection fails. Watch your log, the driver says :
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce Go 6600 GT
[...]
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X

According to this post it's a vbios issue, and the problem can be solved using nvflash to replace the bios.
Unfortunally to me, gideong's 6600 is an Inno one, and mine is a Twintech one, and all the bioses I tested didn't work. Besides, I contacted Twintech's support and they send me another bios. With it I can run X, but I get the so called "screen frozen, but mouse pointer moves" bug (and NvAGP didn't made a difference)...
But be happy, your card is an Inno3d, so you have a chance... good luck

-- gillux

funman 04-24-06 03:57 AM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68174

foodude2 04-25-06 08:19 PM

Re: black screen - kernel 2.6 - gf6600
 
I have this problem with Windows and GeForce 6600 256MB AGP being recognised as GeForce Go 6600 GT....
and I managed to get it working without resorting to BIOS flashing.

I connected my Compaq VGA monitor to the Digital DVI-I output port on the card using the supplied converter in the box.

And it works ! - no more black screen !

Card is still recognised wrong, but all the clock speeds / mem speeds are accurate to plain 6600.
It would appear that the recognition of the card as one from a laptop, causes the VGA output to be "disabled".

oh and btw - I logged in using a password on Bugmenot - which I apologise for and thought you should know about the "loophole".... ( In my defence, I really couldn't be bothered to register to a Linux forum to make this one post that may be useful to readers of a thread I found when trying to find an online fix for this problem )


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.