nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Unofficial nVidia HOWTO [RPM version] (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=648)

Rob C. 08-12-02 08:00 AM

Unofficial nVidia HOWTO [RPM version]

I am no expert but with the help of some great people in this forum I was able to get up and running. My one complaint would be the information is spread out and possibly hard for some to find. Hopefully this general method will bring others success.

The first mistake I made was downloading the wrong NVIDIA_kernel package. Luckily nVidia created a script to help you get the proper kernel package. Download this before downloading anything else and save yourself some time.

NVchooser.sh

I assume you now have the proper NVIDIA_kernel and NVIDIA_GLX files. Are you upgrading or doing a new install?

rpm -q NVIDIA_kernel

If you are upgrading you must blow out the old... nVidia reports an issue in the script that deletes files that shouldn't be if you use rpm -e so they recommend rpm -Uvh.

Upgrading
rpm -Uvh NVIDIA_kernel.version.rpm
rpm -e NVIDIA_GLX.version.rpm
rpm -ivh NVIDIA_GLX.version.rpm

First Install
rpm -ivh NVIDIA_kernel.version.rpm
rpm -ivh NVIDIA_GLX.version.rpm

Some may argue this step is not needed but it is what worked for me. I mainly did this step because my screen wasn't properly aligned and xvidtune wasn't helping... This should make your config more compatible so I would include this step in your install.

XFree86 -configure

It will spit out a config to /root/XF86Config.new

***NOTE I have a USB keyboard and mouse and it didn't work with this new config so I copied the stuff from my old and added to this new config.
Delete the old configs
rm /etc/X11/XF86Config*
Then move over the new one.
mv /root/XF86Config.new /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
Now to edit your config.
vi /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
Edit out the following [Module section]