nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA FreeBSD (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Geforce 6200 Go / Turbocache, 64 or 256MB of memory? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=65328)

Aphax 02-22-06 10:27 PM

Geforce 6200 Go / Turbocache, 64 or 256MB of memory?
 
Hi. I have an ASUS A6Vc laptop (specs at http://www.asus.com.tw/products4.asp...5&l2=25&l3=134 ), which (according to ASUS' website) comes with a "NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6200 with TurboCache™ supporting 256MB TurboCache™ Memory". In FreeBSD the device is seen as a "nvidia0: <GeForce Go 6200> mem 0xfd000000-0xfdffffff,0xc0000000-0xcfffffff,0xfc000000-0xfcffffff irq 16 at device 0.0 on pci3". In the nvidia-settings utility also shows a Geforce 6200 Go, however, with only 64MB of memory. Is this correct? Is TurboCache some magical feature that turns 64MB memory into 256MB, or are these simply different cards with different specs?

EDIT: After searching on these forums, I now understand that TurboCache is a feature that allows my graphics card to use system RAM. Will it still use system RAM dispite it listing 64MB, does this feature need to be enabled for it to take up system RAM? (Note, I have no BIOS option that allows me to do this.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.