nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Sun 24" LCD (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=6836)

dwilhite 01-28-03 03:25 PM

Sun 24" LCD
 
I'm running Redhat 8 with a Sun 24" LCD widescreen monitor. I'm having trouble configuring my system to use the 1920x1200 resolution. I'm currently running 1600x1200. It seems to be working fine except for a small 1/4" wrap-around. Can anyone help me?

David

Wolfman [TWP] 01-29-03 08:40 AM

Try putting the correct Horz & Vert sync info into the XF86Config file (/etc/XF86config), and see what happens.

Linux, just like windows, will/can not change to that resolution if it assumes the monitor can't handle it. By giving X that information will allow it to go to that resolution.

dwilhite 01-29-03 08:57 AM

I do have the horiz and vert sync numbers in my XF86Config. The width seems to be the only problem. Here are a couple of the section settings:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30.0-82.0
VertRefresh 56-76
Option "dpms"


EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200"
EndSubsection

EndSection


I have the geometry set at 1600x1200 which is the only one that works. If I set it to anything else, I can't start X. The monitor should display 1920x1200.

Wolfman [TWP] 01-29-03 09:03 AM

Hmmm... Those values look to be rather low.. Mine are much higer, but then I am using a CRT and not a LCD screen. (A 19" Philips) And it can handle that resolution without any trouble. You may have to make sure that the refresh rate is around 60Hz (I've noticed most LCD's go funny if it's any higher than that)

dwilhite 01-29-03 09:15 AM

I think the refresh rates are good. I got them from the Sun web site. The display is working great except for the very small wraparound I'm getting (the right 1/4" wraps around to the left side).

After posting my last message, I reset my geometry to 1920x1200 and rebooted. When I do an xwininfo, I get this:

xwininfo: Window id: 0x1000003 ".gnome-desktop"

Absolute upper-left X: 0
Absolute upper-left Y: 0
Relative upper-left X: 0
Relative upper-left Y: 0
Width: 1600
Height: 1200
Depth: 24
Visual Class: TrueColor
Border width: 0
Class: InputOutput
Colormap: 0x20 (installed)
Bit Gravity State: NorthWestGravity
Window Gravity State: NorthWestGravity
Backing Store State: NotUseful
Save Under State: no
Map State: IsViewable
Override Redirect State: no
Corners: +0+0 -0+0 -0-0 +0-0
-geometry 1600x1200+0+0

It looks like the driver is resetting to 1600.

One other note -- I'm using the 3123 kernel because the latest one (4191) doesn't work at all on this monitor.

Wolfman [TWP] 01-30-03 06:25 AM

I still think that there is a problem with your horizonal & Vertical sync values. Here is the setting for my Philips Brilliance 109P monitor. It too handles 1920x1200 maximum resolution.

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Philips"
ModelName "Philips Brilliance 109"
HorizSync 30.0 - 95.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

So it seems that there is a problem there somewhere. I guess that Linux will try to calculate if those values will support the resolution you specified, and if it's wrong, it will lower it to a value it will support. As you know, the monitor plays a major role in what the maximum resolution you can see on your screen. Even if the video card will support higher than the monitor will.

I haven't bothered to try the 1920x1200 mode yet, as the 1600x1200 mode the font is so tiny, I hate to see what it looks like at that resolution. :)

Check those values again. It may also be possible that Sun has putup the wrong values for that monitor. As I don't know the exact model, I can't confirm that.

dwilhite 01-30-03 06:44 AM

I just tried your suggestion and inserted the numbers you have. It did make a slight difference. The left 1/4" of the screen is now split in half. Now the wrap-around goes into the inner split and the left split continues with the left part of the screen. I'm not sure if that makes sense with out seeing a picture but it did change something so you are probably right about the values needing to be changed. I just need to find out what to use.

Wolfman [TWP] 01-30-03 06:54 AM

Sounds like a problem with the Horizonal Sync values. Be carefull with these values, as wrong values, can damage the monitor. I would go check the Sun site and check those values again..

Oh!! and also check to see what the actual screen resolutions that it will support. I sort of skipped over the fact that it's a Widescreen Monitor, so the aspect ratios will be different to a normal monitor. Which I guess means it will use none standard resolutions... (Similar to the Sony Vaio which did that too. Instead of 1024x768, it was 1024x576 or something to that effect. To give the Widescreen effect...)

dwilhite 01-30-03 07:28 AM

I checked the Sun website again. The monitor does support 1920x1200. The values I tried were 73.54 for horiz and 60 for vert. This didn't work and I had to back off. I've also tried the value ranges.

Here is the website:

http://sunsolve.sun.com/handbook_pub...or_24_LCD.html

Wolfman [TWP] 01-30-03 08:17 AM

Ok, so according to the User manual Specifications section. The Horizonal & Vertical settings should be...

HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0

And in relation to the aspect ratio, the monitor defaults to 1:1. So you will possibly get some horizontal or Vertical cut off. (IE not a FULL screen display).

Also have you tried the 1920x1080 mode??

And are you using the DVI connector??

dwilhite 01-30-03 09:30 AM

I just tried the 1920x1080 mode and the suggested rate ranges. Nothing changed. The xwininfo output still shows I'm running 1600x1200. I am using the DVI connection.

Wolfman [TWP] 01-31-03 07:52 AM

Seeing that I don't have access to this type of monitor, I'm stumped...

The only other thing that I can possibly suggest is to put this line in the monitor section of the /etc/X11/XF86Config file.

Option "ddc" "off"

Possibly this might help.. :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.