nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68793)

kefka005995 04-20-06 02:50 AM

PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hello everybody.

I am trying Mandriva 2006 since one week and the big problem that I had was for installing the nvidia driver.

My first probleme was the black bar on my DFP and on my CRT.

This could be resolved with:
"options nvidia NVreg_Mobile=X"
in my /etc/modprobe.conf
X can be 1, 3 or 4
I choose 1.

And of course, my xorg.conf :
Section "Screen"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI"
Option "UseEdidDpi" "FALSE"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoEdidDFPMaxSizeCheck, NoVesaModes"

I had also to specify my modes and metamodes for twinview to work.
Well, now, I can work on my DFP and/or on my CRT.

I manage to use TwinView with those two monitor. Everything works well. (So if you have probleme for this configuration, you can ask me)


Now, I want to use my TV.

But when I used it (telling UseDisplayDevice), X freeze.
So now, I'm just telling that the TV is here, in order to see what it say

A grep (WW) and (EE) and (NI) and (??) on the log give me this :
Code:

(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failure reading maximum pixel clock value for display device
(EE) NVIDIA(0):    TV-0.
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description "TV-0:modeInterne"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "TV-0:modeInterne"; unable to map
(WW) NVIDIA(0):    to display device
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description "TV-0:NULL"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "TV-0:NULL"; unable to map to
(WW) NVIDIA(0):    display device
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description "TV-0:NULL"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "TV-0:NULL"; unable to map to
(WW) NVIDIA(0):    display device
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.


I tried everything I could.

I tried "NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck" for the mode validation but this didn't change anything.

I tried creating a second screen but this didn't work.

Well, here is my files at this states.

Thank you very much.

NeySlim 04-20-06 07:35 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 875
 
Sorry, I have no answer for your question, I just wanted to thank you to resolve my black bar problem :)
Thanks !

kefka005995 04-20-06 09:04 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 875
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NeySlim
Sorry, I have no answer for your question, I just wanted to thank you to resolve my black bar problem :)
Thanks !

I happy to see that I could help someone :)
I hope that someone will find the solution for my problem :(

mlampard 04-20-06 11:43 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756
 
can you try removing the "device2" section of xorg.conf, in case that is causing conflicts ? Both device1 and device2 have the same BusID, and you appear to only want a twinview configuration, so a secondary device isnt necessary.

kefka005995 04-20-06 12:57 PM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mlampard
can you try removing the "device2" section of xorg.conf, in case that is causing conflicts ? Both device1 and device2 have the same BusID, and you appear to only want a twinview configuration, so a secondary device isnt necessary.

Well, my device2 section was there for a test. I tried to connect two screens as explain in the Readme Appendix P : http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L...ppendix-p.html
It works for DFP and CRT but not for TV so I don't think there is a conflict...
...
...
...
...
...
...
Well, I have just removed it and nothing changes.
It's not working.

But thanks for the idea. I think I'm not the only one who have the problem and as far as I could see in the forum, I couldn't get any answer so I wonder if it is just possible to do it...
:surrender

mlampard 04-20-06 01:49 PM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756
 
the "MetaModes" option in your xorg.conf also appears to be incorrect. Also, I think that only two output devices can be used at one time. Can you try physically disconnecting the CRT and using the following device section?
Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 420 Go (Toshiba)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "Twinview" "True"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,TV"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-83"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-76"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVOverScan" "1.0"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
EndSection

ursvik 04-21-06 08:57 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 875
 
what kernel + x.org version do you use, i cant get 8756 to work at all on my 1410. it just freezes on startup.

kefka005995 04-21-06 10:59 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 875
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ursvik
what kernel + x.org version do you use, i cant get 8756 to work at all on my 1410. it just freezes on startup.

I am on an Mandriva 2006 Free DVD edition.

I think it is a kernel 2.6.12 (because the rpm name is : kernel-2.6.12.12mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm)
and Xorg version must be : 6.9.1

If you want to see my package version, go to http://ftp.club-internet.fr/pub/linu...86/media/main/

There is almost all the package I can install with my Mandriva.

kefka005995 04-21-06 11:13 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756
 
2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by mlampard
the "MetaModes" option in your xorg.conf also appears to be incorrect. Also, I think that only two output devices can be used at one time. Can you try physically disconnecting the CRT and using the following device section?
Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 420 Go (Toshiba)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "Twinview" "True"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,TV"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-83"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-76"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVOverScan" "1.0"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
EndSection


Well well well...
You're probably right, there only can be two output devices.
But doing the changes makes all freeze.
I can't get anything on anything.
I disconnected my CRT so that only my DFP and TV could be used.
The result is very not good.
I did what you suggested and nothing worked. So I changed the metamodes (in order to use the good one for my DFP and a long list of possible one for my TV) but nothing changed. Then I tried nvidia-auto-select.

There is two versions of bug report :

First one with :
Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "device1"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    VendorName    "nVidia Corp."
    BoardName      "NVIDIA GeForce4 420 Go (Toshiba)"
    Option        "DPMS"
    Option        "TwinView" "TRUE"
    Option        "MetaModes" "modeToshibaS1410, NULL; NULL, modeToshibaS1410; 640x480, 640x480; 720x480, 720x480; 720x576, 720x576; 800x600, 800x600; 1024x768, 1024x768; 640x480_60, 640x480_60; 800x600_60, 800x600_60; 1024x768_60, 1024x768_60"
    Option        "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,TV"
    Option        "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-83"
    Option        "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-76"
    Option        "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
    Option        "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
    Option        "TVOverScan" "1.0"
    Option        "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
#    Option        "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
#    Option        "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0 - 49.0"
#    Option        "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "48.0 - 60.0"
#    Option        "MetaModes" "modeToshibaS1410, modeToshibaS1410 ; modeToshibaS1410, NULL ; NULL, modeToshibaS1410"
EndSection

Attachment 17651


Second one with :
Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "device1"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    VendorName    "nVidia Corp."
    BoardName      "NVIDIA GeForce4 420 Go (Toshiba)"
    Option        "DPMS"
    Option        "TwinView" "TRUE"
    Option        "MetaModes" "modeToshibaS1410, nvidia-auto-select"
    Option        "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,TV"
    Option        "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-83"
    Option        "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-76"
    Option        "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
    Option        "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
    Option        "TVOverScan" "1.0"
    Option        "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
#    Option        "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
#    Option        "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0 - 49.0"
#    Option        "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "48.0 - 60.0"
#    Option        "MetaModes" "modeToshibaS1410, modeToshibaS1410 ; modeToshibaS1410, NULL ; NULL, modeToshibaS1410"
EndSection

Attachment 17652


I would be so gratefull to have the solution... :hug:

Well, in all the cases, thank you for trying to help me...

ursvik 04-24-06 01:35 AM

Re: PB: Toshiba Satellite 1410 (Geforce4 420Go), TwinView, TV (Composite), Driver 8756
 
Thanx kefka, your info on top helped me getting the display device up and running on my 1410. I just wished i had read it more carefully the first time.
Sorry i cannot help you with Your problem, don't use tv-out.... I have no telly !

Ursvik


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.