nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=69057)

DrFraggle 04-24-06 05:11 PM

Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate
 
Hi all,

After upgrading from 1.0-8178 to 1.0-8756 today (on Debian GNU/Linux 3.1, Kernel 2.6.16.10, xfree86 4.3.0.dfsg.1-14sarge1), suddenly my refresh rate for resolution 1152x864 dropped from 85 hz to 75 hz.

May it be that my modeline in /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 is not recognised anymore? I think I also got 75 hz long time ago, when I had no modeline at all.

[...]
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Standardbildschirm"
HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
ModeLine "1152x864" 128.9 1152 1216 1440 1664 864 865 868 911
ModeLine "800x600" 56.2 800 832 896 1048 600 601 604 631
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
[...]

It would be very nice if you could help me with this problem. Please tell me if showing you any files would be helpful.

Thank you very much in Advance
Christian

DrFraggle 04-25-06 07:02 AM

Re: Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate
 
3 Attachment(s)
I commented out the ModeLines, HorizSync, VertRefresh and DPMS to try autodetection. Still only 75 hz in 1152x864.

The next thing I tried was to rename the modes to 1152x864_85 and 1024x768_85. Now 1152x864 doesn't work anymore at all, but 1024x768 still does.

Excerpt from XFree86 log:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1152x864_85"; removing.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1024x768_85"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "800x600"
(II) NVIDIA(0): "640x480"

So it seems:
- My modeline is not accepted anymore, why?
- Autodection thinks 1152x864_85 is not valid.

Just to make it clear: 1152x864 @ 85 hz worked perfectly until yesterday.

I attach the the X log, my xfree86 config and the bug report (a little bit cut at the end because it seems to exceed the limit slightly)

Thank you
Christian

DrFraggle 04-25-06 07:12 AM

Re: Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate
 
3 Attachment(s)
And the same files when I reactivate the modelines (situation of the first post):

Gon0S 04-25-06 07:43 AM

Re: Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate
 
Hello

I had the same problem as you with my IIYAMA A201HT, VisionMaster Pro 510.

in fact, the new drivers are using EDID infos given by the monitor and the nvidia driver use the higher rez it compute using that not really accurate data.

My monitor is detected having 400MHz bandwith (360 in reality) and HorizSync 30.0-100.0 VertRefresh 50.0-130.0 (in reality it is HorizSync 30.0-130.0 VertRefresh 50.0-160.0).

So I put in the device section of the xorg.conf file :
Option "UseEDID" "False"
And now the nvidia is forced to use my own modelines !

DrFraggle 04-25-06 08:35 AM

Re: Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate
 
Thank you for your help, but it didn't work.

WHAT helped:
Renaming the modeline from 1152x864 to 1152x864c (don't forget to change the mode in Screen section too).

This seems to be an ugly bug. Apparently it ignores ModeLines for some "well known" modes / resolutions?

DrFraggle 04-25-06 08:41 AM

Re: Modeline not working anymore? / Lower refresh rate
 
See also http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...273#post873273


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.