nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   nforce3-250: no apg or iommu (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=69979)

seandarcy 05-10-06 08:55 PM

nforce3-250: no apg or iommu
 
I have a gigabyte K8NSC-939 - nforce3-250, with amd64-3000, 1 gig of ram and a radeon 8500 agp card. Runing fedora core 5.

dmesg:
.........
Linux version 2.6.16-1.2196_FC6
.................
Allocating PCI resources starting at 50000000 (gap: 40000000:bec00000)
Checking aperture...
CPU 0: aperture @ f0000000 size 32 MB
Aperture from northbridge cpu 0 too small (32 MB)
AGP bridge at 00:00:00
Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB (APSIZE 0)
Aperture from AGP bridge too small (0 MB)
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM
Mapping aperture over 65536 KB of RAM @ 4000000
.............
agpgart: Detected AGP bridge 0
agpgart: Aperture conflicts with PCI mapping.
agpgart: Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB
agpgart: Aperture too small (0 MB)
agpgart: No usable aperture found.
agpgart: Consider rebooting with iommu=memaper=2 to get a good aperture.
PCI-DMA: Disabling IOMMU.
............
[drm] Initialized drm 1.0.1 20051102
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> Link [APC5] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 209
[drm] Initialized radeon 1.24.0 20060225 on minor 0
[drm] Initialized radeon 1.24.0 20060225 on minor 1
mtrr: 0xe8000000,0x8000000 overlaps existing 0xe8000000,0x4000000
[drm:radeon_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon_cp_init called without lock held
[drm:drm_unlock] *ERROR* Process 2309 using kernel context 0
................
So agp doesn't start. X starts but no openGL.

Bios, F8 december 2005, doesn't seem to have anything about agp aperture.

I've tried the iommu setting ( which I thought was only for > 4 gigs ), but that also failed.

Any help really appreciated.

sean

fahlen 05-19-06 03:16 PM

Re: nforce3-250: no apg or iommu
 
Did you figure out how to solve your problem? I have the same problem and the same motherboard...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.