nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=70434)

fahlen 05-19-06 03:36 PM

AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Hi, I've been searching the forum, but with no luck. I have a Gigabyte K8NSC motherboard, AMD64 3700+ processor, and an NVIDIA 6800 GT (AGP) graphics card. I just bought the motherboard and installed Fedora Core 5. Now I'm faced with not being able to get AGP to work. I've installed kmod-nvidia-1.0.8756-2.2.6.16_1.2111_FC5 from the livna repository.

dmesg gives me the following messages:

Code:

Checking aperture...
CPU 0: aperture @ f0000000 size 32 MB
Aperture from northbridge cpu 0 too small (32 MB)
AGP bridge at 00:00:00
Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB (APSIZE 0)
Aperture from AGP bridge too small (0 MB)
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM

...

agpgart: Detected AGP bridge 0
agpgart: Aperture conflicts with PCI mapping.
agpgart: Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB
agpgart: Aperture too small (0 MB)
agpgart: No usable aperture found.
agpgart: Consider rebooting with iommu=memaper=2 to get a good aperture.
PCI-DMA: Disabling IOMMU.

I can find no options regarding AGP aperture or IOMMU in the BIOS.

Has anyone come across the same problem and solved it? I'd be very grateful for any help.

/Markus

netllama 05-19-06 03:41 PM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
You need to try booting with the iommu=memaper=2 kernel parameter (as was printed in the dmesg output that you posted).

Thanks,
Lonni

fahlen 05-19-06 04:11 PM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
I forgot to mention that I've tried that, but it didn't make any difference :( Thanks for your reply.

deBeuk 05-19-06 07:49 PM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Have you tried updating the motherboard's BIOS? I had this exact same problem when I bought my Asus A8V Deluxe, flashing with the latest BIOS fixed it for me.

gizzi 05-23-06 11:39 AM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Hi,
i got the same problem. And it seems that the mainboard is f*cked up. Well, actually only for linux users.
My Mainboard is GA-K8NSC-939 (AMD Athlon64 3000+) and my Geforce 6200 is running sloooooow...
I updated the BIOS yesterday, but unfortunately this problem is still unsolved.

netllama 05-23-06 11:57 AM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
I'd like to see bug reports from anyone experiencing this problem while booting with the iommu=memaper=2 kernel parameter.

Thanks,
Lonni

gizzi 05-24-06 12:30 AM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
I'd like to see bug reports from anyone experiencing this problem while booting with the iommu=memaper=2 kernel parameter.

Thanks,
Lonni

As mentioned above, this kernel parameter doesn't effect anything at all. You get the same error output as without "iommu=memaper=2".
I also tried "iommu=memaper=3" which i saw in another forum, and it did cost me 256MB of RAM (which is my graphics card memory amount).
The only workaround for this I know is to deactivate K8 IOMMU at all (iommu=off as append line doesn't work at all, too).

gizzi 05-25-06 05:17 AM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
I uploaded some syslog http://nopaste.php-q.net/214645

Albert87 07-02-06 09:48 AM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
I have the same problem and same out put

agpgart: Detected AGP bridge 0
agpgart: Aperture conflicts with PCI mapping.
agpgart: Aperture from AGP @ f0000000 size 4096 MB
agpgart: Aperture too small (0 MB)
agpgart: No usable aperture found.


Motherbord k8nsc, and im experiance problems when running with more then 1 DDR memory bank... Its running as shell server, so the graphics do not matter.

THE PROBLEM...
As said, the problem occurs when running with more then 1 memory bank (like 2 x 512 or 1x1GB/2x512) im getting kernel panics after a few hours, a day or meaby a few days...

Q:
Does the video card run with shared memory with this problem?! Then I can imagine the problem we experiance...
EDIT It seems that it does!!
Your BIOS doesn't leave a aperture memory hole
Please enable the IOMMU option in the BIOS setup
This costs you 64 MB of RAM
Mapping aperture over 65536 KB of RAM @ 4000000

------------------------------------------------/EDIT
Does this problem occurs with other linux distro's? We experianced the problems with centos 4.2 aswell.

Is there any solutions to this problem?!

Regards,
Albert

vnywn 07-02-06 02:46 PM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Pressing Ctrl-F1 in BIOS enables advanced settings. You can then set the AGP aperture size (to 64MB or more). This should fix the problem.

Albert87 07-02-06 04:20 PM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vnywn
Pressing Ctrl-F1 in BIOS enables advanced settings. You can then set the AGP aperture size (to 64MB or more). This should fix the problem.

That sounds verry optimistic, reading ur posts above?! Could it be that simple?

Box running at data center so its not 1,2,3, tested, but im going to for sure...

Any other sugestions or will the solution by vnywn really fix it all ?! :)

Albert87 07-17-06 05:56 AM

Re: AGPGART & IOMMU problem with AMD64 & FC5
 
Would this problem occour with a pci vid. card?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.