nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch" (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=71201)

jaffsonying 06-04-06 12:38 AM

how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
i have install the driver downloaded from nvidia,and added the below words to /etc/modules
alias eth0 nvnet
alias forcedeth off
but it doesn't work at all
the driver is still forcedeth when i reboot again!

BashfulTux 06-04-06 03:00 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jaffsonying
i have install the driver downloaded from nvidia,and added the below words to /etc/modules
alias eth0 nvnet
alias forcedeth off
but it doesn't work at all
the driver is still forcedeth when i reboot again!

/etc/modules is not where you should put it create a file /etc/modprobe.d/nvnet and put the alias eth0 nvnet in there then modprobe should see it when booting. Worse case rename/delete the forcedeth from the /lib/modules/'uname -r'/kernel/drivers/net/ directory using the output of the uname -r to find the correct directory name.

sensovision 06-04-06 05:36 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
if your system using hotplug for loading necessary modules as I do on my Debian installation you can prevent certain modules from loading by adding module name to: /etc/hotplug/blacklist

hope it helps.

jaffsonying 06-04-06 06:32 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
i have done as BashfulTux's .but it still doesn't work
i have added the below words to /etc/modprobe/nvnet
alias eth0 nvnet
alias forcedeth off
besides , i also did this :
/lib/modules/2.6.15-1-486/kernel/drivers/net# rm forcedeth.ko
but when i reboot,it implys :
forcedeth.c: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.48.
eth0: forcedeth.c: subsystem: 01565:2501 bound to 0000:00:14.0
by the way,i input the below commands
debian:/home/jaffson# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr AA:00:04:00:0A:04
i'm very sure the mac address is wrong.
my network card is nforce 410/430

sensovision 06-04-06 06:40 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
have you try to blacklist forcedeth module as I've suggested? As hotplug would use first module it would found...
if it doesn't help maybe you consider re-compiling kernel without this module?

jaffsonying 06-05-06 01:32 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
i have done this.but it doesn't work too.
i formatted the disk last night. and now i use sarge.
it work better than etch.
can you tell me some forums address that talk about debian os specifily?
thank you!

sensovision 06-05-06 02:42 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
maybe your system use udev that's why blacklisting didn't work...

As for talking about Debian specific questions I can recommend http://forums.debian.net/ or I'd be glad to see you on our forums http://forum.weblamp.net/linux which isn't Debian specific but since me and few other folks use Debian based distros we may be able to help out each other.

jaffsonying 06-05-06 10:02 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
yes,i'm sure it use udev.if unstall it, can i disabled forcedeth?

sensovision 06-05-06 10:42 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
Didn't have time to switch to Udev myself, but from what I know you can prevent udev from loading module by adding line like this blacklist forcedeth to:
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

Also make sure that you don't have forcedeth mentioned in /etc/modules

Please let me know if it helps.

jaffsonying 06-06-06 06:26 AM

Re: how can i disable the forcedeth in debian "etch"
 
it didn't work too!
i have not only done this ,but also edited the below files
/etc/modules
/etc/modules.conf
/etc/modutiles/arch/s390
/etc/modutiles/arch/s390x
/etc/modprobe.d/aliases
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
almost all the files that relate to the network have been changed.
but it didn't work
i think i will never use testing os from now on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.