nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   New Gainward BIOS for the GeForce4 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72)

Gambit 07-28-02 02:13 PM

Gainward New Bois for the G4?
 
Has anyone noticed that Gainward has a new bois for the Gainward GeForce4 PowerPack! Ultra/750 -- V4.25.00.28.00

http://www.gainward.com/f-2-2.asp?nS...ct=1&nModel=10

Does anyone know what it changes? I haven't seen any docs or news about it.

Can anyone help out with any info they might know? Maybe I just missed a post sometime.

BTW I have the V4.25.00.26.00 that came shipped with the card

Thanks,

Gambit

JJLPIMP 07-28-02 03:01 PM

I don't really know about the bios. But are you having any problems? I've went through 2 bad Gainward Ti4200's over the last couple weeks. One guy suggested a new bios but I myself don't know about the bioses either.

Gambit 07-28-02 03:55 PM

I havn't had one problem with my card. Rock solid! (knock on wood):)

just was wondering if it fixed any of the problems the gf4 has. But how know maybe drivers can fix most of them. Only time will tell

skipparoo 07-29-02 05:51 PM

I upgraded to that new BIOS a while back. Seems to be running just fine. The only difference I noticed was that before, when first turning on my machine, the GeForce4 BIOS information would not be displayed, but now it does with this new BIOS. Other than that, the card is running top notch, so you shouldn't have any problems upgrading.

-Skippy

monkeydust 07-29-02 07:05 PM

I just downloaded it but didn't see any instructions on how to flash it. Can somebody tell me how to do it?

EDIT: Nevermind. I found the GeforceFAQ that had instructions on how to do it. One odd thing about it is that now my machine has a 59mhz refresh rate during BIOS posting instead of 60mhz. Everything else seems normal though.

monkeydust 07-29-02 09:24 PM

I want my original BIOS back. :(

I lost over 2000 3dmarks with this BIOS. I have been looking around the net to try to find my original BIOS and haven't had any luck. Does anybody know where I can find it?

EDIT: Well, after playing "musical BIOS's", I now have the nvidia V4.25.00.28.00 BIOS flashed and have my 3dMark2k1 scores pretty close to where they should be now. Someday I'll learn not to try to fix things that aren't broken (no I won't)... :)

skipparoo 07-30-02 03:02 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by monkeydust
I want my original BIOS back. :(

I lost over 2000 3dmarks with this BIOS. I have been looking around the net to try to find my original BIOS and haven't had any luck. Does anybody know where I can find it?

EDIT: Well, after playing "musical BIOS's", I now have the nvidia V4.25.00.28.00 BIOS flashed and have my 3dMark2k1 scores pretty close to where they should be now. Someday I'll learn not to try to fix things that aren't broken (no I won't)... :)

So what was it you did wrong before? The BIOS on Gainward's site, 4.25.00.28.00, is what you flashed with originally to give the low 3DMark scores right? Is there a different version of the 4.25.00.28.00 BIOS that you flashed with now to give you the same performance as you should have been getting? I just want to make sure the BIOS I flashed with from Gainward's site isn't corrupted in some way...

-Skippy

monkeydust 07-30-02 07:59 AM

I have no idea. I flashed my BIOS to 4 different BIOS's yesterday and each one was successful. Everything seems to be ok today except the frequencies when I boot up are 1mhz less than they used to be (59mhz and 69mhz during BIOS and splash screens until windows is loaded then it switches to my normal refresh). Kinda odd, but no big deal. Everything else seems to be ok. As stated above by somebody, I also now get a videocard BIOS readout when my machine first boots up (didn't used to).

skipparoo 07-30-02 06:19 PM

How are you able to tell what resolution you're running at when posting? I want to know, to test it with my setup, because I noticed too that when you enter Windows after post, the screen flickers and such like it does when you change resolutions. This only happened before when I overclocked my video card, but I don't anymore, but the screen still switches, so I bet it's the same thing, with the -1MHz resolution..

-Skippy

monkeydust 07-30-02 06:37 PM

My monitor (Hitachi 751 - 19") has an on-screen display that show what the horizontal and vertical frequencies are whenever the resolution changes. I would think most monitors would have an on-screen display that could be viewed when you press one of the buttons on your monitor.

NeoGeo 07-30-02 07:56 PM

heyyy i used to get that... i was using a crumby old 15" and it used to flash up "new refresh rate - 69Hz" and flicker on and off.. then it locked at 70Hz....

everything was fine and wasnt really a problem, i just assumed it was the way my gainward was working with my board, but then i got a 17" monitor (few days ago), and the problem disappeared!! Crazy!! It sticks at 70Hz during post, with no flickers at all... oh well nothing to worry about.... :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.