nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   3DMark03 - damage control for the GeForce FX? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=7231)

creedamd 02-06-03 04:03 PM

3dmark2k3 damage control for GFFX

Who wants to bet that the GFFX will kick the 9700 in the new 3dmark! This will be unbelievable if it does! Discuss!!!

Retrofire 02-06-03 04:25 PM

Hmmm...

I'm no engineer, but my thought is that the 128-bit memory bus will be as much a limiting factor in 3DMark2003 as it is in everything else.

The frustrating thing to me is that the GeForce FX is a technology spectacular hampered by comparatively poor memory bandwidth.

I have no doubt that in terms of raw processing power and capability, the GeForce FX will have no equal. At the same time, you can put a Ferrari engine in a Yugo and...Still have a Yugo. :(

ATi definately did an excellent job anticipating where the market was heading and putting a chip of less power out and designing a better method of feeding it.

Unfortunately GFX is trying to suck a golfball through a garden hose...And predictably looks like it will just end up sucking.

I'm still very anxious to see non-jaded real-world user reviews on the GFX though. :D

undercover 02-06-03 04:29 PM

Lets have a sweepstake :)

I pick the GFFX to beat the 9700 in 3dM2003 by 25% overall at 1280x1024

Nutty 02-06-03 05:21 PM

Rumours are the retail version of the card will be much quiter fan wise, and I bet the drivers improve considerably.

What the chances that nvidia unveil "free" AA with newer drivers on the hardware at some point?! Now that would be impressive. I still think GF-fx's AA quality is fine. The ppl slating it seem to have no understanding of equal comparisons, and seem to be completley blind to me.

sytaylor 02-06-03 05:22 PM

hmm i say 10% if its any more then theres serious foul play going on :eek2: