nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=73475)

phlakvest 07-15-06 06:47 PM

Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors
 
Ok heres my Problem.

My card is a geforce 6600GT, and I am running slackware 10,2. I have the newest nvidia driver and I currently have twin view working correctly. I am having the same problem that many other people are having with games spaning both monitors.

I have tried setting a meta mode to 1600x1200,1600x1200; 1600x1200,null and instead of dropping down to one monitor in games it choses to load that mode every time I start X. I have also tried "ctrl"+"alt"+"+" (on the numpad and keypad) and it doesnt change modes.

Heres a copy of my xorg.conf
Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier    "Default Layout"
    Screen        "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load          "dbe"          # Double buffer extension
    SubSection    "extmod"
        Option        "omit xfree86-dga"  # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load          "type1"
    Load          "freetype"
    Load          "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Keyboard0"
    Driver        "kbd"
    Option        "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option        "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option        "XkbModel" "pc101"
    Option        "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier    "Mouse0"
    Driver        "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "Auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option        "Resolution"  "1200"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Monitor0"
    HorizSync      31.5 - 82.0
    VertRefresh    50.0 - 90.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Videocard0"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
    Option        "NvAGP" "3"
    Option        "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0,CRT-1"
    Option      "IgnoreDisplayDevices"  "TV"
    Option      "TwinView" "true"
    Option      "HorizSync" "50-100"
    Option      "VertRefresh" "60-120"
    Option      "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200"
CRT-0:1600x1200,CRT-1: null"
    Option      "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"


EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Screen0"
    Device        "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection    "Display"
        Depth      24
        Modes      "1600x1200"
        ViewPort 0 0
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Thanks in advance for your Help.

rZn 07-16-06 02:45 AM

Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors
 
You could try to set

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200; 1600x1200;

//rZn

phlakvest 07-16-06 09:08 AM

Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors
 
I tried that it does the exact same thing as using
Code:

"1600x1200,1600x1200;1600x1200,null"

blargh 07-17-06 12:41 PM

Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors
 
Your mode is good, you just need to activate that mode BEFORE starting the game. I don't use slackware, so I can't tell you how to do that.

phlakvest 07-20-06 07:51 AM

Re: Problems with twinview and games spanning two monitors
 
But is there a way to make it default to 1600x1600,1600x1200 when I start X?
Or will I just have to manual change it everytime I start?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.