nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Feedback Forum (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   page doesnt load fully- lots of them (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=7410)

fantomas 02-11-03 01:39 AM

page doesnt load fully- lots of them
 
hi webmaster

often pages dont completely load for nvnews for me, doesnt matter where...1 item is always remaining to load...which is the ad. So maybe you should mirror the ad, instead of loading from some useless server :)

otherwise, this is my fav gpu site!

MikeC 02-11-03 03:24 AM

No problems on my end at home or at work. All of the ads are stored on the same server as the rest of the web site.

fantomas 02-11-03 04:56 AM

oh okay, maybe i need a cookie enabled or some feature, which puts an end to this thread.

PsychoSy 02-11-03 05:52 AM

If you've got Kazza Lite installed, their little "Super Trick" can cause long loading times of webpages and stuff like that. I had one instance where the screenshots from GameSpot News wouldn't even load and most of the websites I visited on a daily basis looked like ass to boot.

Uninstalled Kazza Lite, Reinstalled it (without the super trickery)
then installed Pop-Up Stopper to compensate. Nary a problem since. :D BTW, NvNews doesn't use pop-up ads that I'm aware of - just banner ads that are embedded in the mainpage. So if anyone's getting pop-up ads shilling diplomas or online casinos when they visit here, then it's sign of potential spyware (or Windows XPs "Messenger" service) may be running rampant on your rig.

For the record, WinXPs "Messenger" service is NOT the same thing as MSN Messenger.

vampireuk 02-11-03 07:03 AM

If you are having issues with that damn messenger service view here for instructions on how to kill it:cool:

poursoul 02-11-03 07:32 AM

did you guy's read what he said!?, what is he talking about?

fantomas 02-11-03 03:07 PM

i dont have kazaa lite, although I recently had edonkey which is probably doing the same "features". The problem I am having is definitely with the flash banner ads.

PsychoSy 02-12-03 02:32 AM

Who is your ISP?

Recently, I couldn't play any online games where the master servers resolved at Id Software in Texas and many websites were not displaying. Drove me nuts. Periodic traces with NeoTrace seemed to indicate that a major MCI router in Texas had gone south.

After 12 hours, I contacted Charter and asked them about it. They told me they'd investigate and call me back but the rep said to try something out of curiosity - use their proxy server. I configured IE to use the proxy and *BAM* all the websites were resolving, including Id Software, proving my stressed router theory.

Still couldn't play RTCW or SOF2 online though. :(

With your problem, it's possible that a router out there somewhere between your ISPs backbone and NvNews's servers is chugging along and dropping packets. In such a case, it's not uncommong for a webpage to load the majority of the text and context yet choke on flashy ads. Usually, a refresh helps as IE will grab most of the content from its cache and hit the server for anything not didn't load properly.

poursoul 02-12-03 01:30 PM

Wait, I finally got it. It just freaked me out when he was like "I need to put an end to this thread" and i was like that dude with that frog that sang. No one else heard it!

fantomas 02-12-03 07:03 PM

PsychoSy-
Thanks for the advice, tried the F5 key to grab everything from cache...still no joy with the last item though. Strangely on THIS page (the 'post reply' form) the ad popped up instantly, (for a gf4) then disappeared and now I am once again waiting for it to load. Maybe the problem is a router somewhere like you said. I am not too worried though, and when I rebuild my system hopefully problems will vanish.

Poursoul-
What are you on man? :D

The Baron 02-12-03 10:46 PM

It's PROBABLY a router problem.

I've been having odd troubles throughout the Net recently--a friend's UT2k3 server on a dedicated T3 (! rich bastard) will occasionally be rendered unplayable by a SINGLE crappy router a few hops from his server. And by unplayable, I don't mean like 150 or 200 pings--no, my friends, I mean EVERYBODY gets pings in the 500s instead of 70s.

I've had trouble getting to nV, Envy, Slashdot, numerous smaller sites, you name it, it has had trouble loading for me.

Don't know what to tell you, but I think that a lot of it might be leftovers from Slammer.

poursoul 02-12-03 11:08 PM

YOU KNOW "HELLO MY HONEY, HELLO MY DARLIN' " YOU KNOW THAT FROG!!!!

Maybe i am on something. Whoa, my monitor is waving at me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.