nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Twinview Clone Gnome Screen Size Problems (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=74194)

jasn 07-29-06 09:47 PM

Twinview Clone Gnome Screen Size Problems
 
1 Attachment(s)
Since it's initial install and config, my Gentoo/Gnome nVidia Twinview config on my Toshiba laptop, whenever I had it docked connected to the external LCD monitor, my 1600x1200 screen would fill with the desktop background, but the Gnome menu bars would be sized and positioned on the screen for the laptop's 1400x1050 screen size. For example the bottom menu bar would be sitting 3/4 of the way down the screen. I can use the entire space fine, and after deleting the bottom menu bar, it was workable. Whenever I would undock the laptop, the Gnome screen would obviously be sized perfectly to the 1400x1050 laptop screen size.

Installing Xgl, I was pleased with the performance and have been using it for several updates. During one update I was pleasantly surprised to see the docked screen behavior change to using the entire screen. The Gnome menu bar went across the entire screen, and the GDM login screen went fullsize as well. I changed nothing with my xorg.conf settings during this entire time period. I've narrowed it down to this, running xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714 I get this perfect docked vs. undocked behavior, when I update it to xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1, it goes back to the previous kludged behavior.

My questions are;

1) Should Twinview do cloned screens to full size?

2) Does it require Xinerama support in order to do this?

3) Any configuration that needs to be setup in order to enable this?

My xorg.conf is enclosed below. TIA

Attachment 19546

BTW, is this feature called anything in particular?

Thunderbird 07-30-06 04:08 AM

Re: Twinview Clone Gnome Screen Size Problems
 
I don't know what causes this. If you are really using clone mode there's no way for Xgl to figure out that you are using it at all. Xinerama is used when multiple monitors are to form one big desktop.

Actually I think that both screens are running at 1400x1050 and that Xgl changed the resolution for some reason.

jasn 07-30-06 06:51 AM

Re: Twinview Clone Gnome Screen Size Problems
 
Well it's back now. I removed the xinerama USE flag from my environment, (which means that things will compile without xinerama support), and with the latest version of xgl (xgl-0.0.1_pre20060714-r1) I have this "flexing desktop", for lack of a better description. 1600x1200 Gnome desktop when docked, 1400x1050 Gnome desktop, undocked. No changing of config files or anything else.

(I just kind of wish I knew what was going on..)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.