nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   VideoRam not Setting Properly (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=74214)

tabanus 07-30-06 09:14 AM

VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
3 Attachment(s)
Similar to, but the opposite of this thread http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=55335

After migrating to xorg 7.0 (from 6.8), I noticed opengl performance degrade significantly. I started doing some digging about, and discovered that the VideoRam is not being set properly.

I'm using an ASRock K8NF4G-SATA2 board with an integrated GeForce 6100 GPU. I don't know if this is actually affecting performance, or if the problem pre-dates xorg migration.

You will see from the attached files that

Xorg.0.log: VideoRAM: 262144 kBytes
xorg.conf: VideoRam 131072

I have set the BIOS to apply 128MB of shared memory for Video. Changing the value of VideoRam in xorg.conf has no effect. If I comment out the VideoRam value in xorg.conf, xorg still "detects" 262144 kBytes of memory.

I tried setting the BIOS to "Auto" for VideoRam. This results in an allocation of 64MB, yet xorg still reports 262144 kBytes (ie 256MB).

How would I sort this, and is it likely to be the cause of the slow opengl performance? Other than that, I haven't noticed any problems.

I'm using nvidia driver version 1.0.8762

tabanus 07-31-06 09:09 AM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
*bump*

Anyone?

tabanus 08-02-06 10:40 AM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
OK, looks like it's a bug in driver 1.0.8762. If I use driver 1.0.8756 the VideoRam parameter is set properly.

Anyone from nVidia care to comment?

While researching this issue, I upgraded my system BIOS, and that resulted in VideoRam being reported as 524,288kb with 1.0.8762 driver.

netllama 08-02-06 10:52 AM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
Actually, this is intended behavior. C51 GPUs are hardlocked to report 256MB of framebuffer.

Thanks,
Lonni

tabanus 08-02-06 01:21 PM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
Actually, this is intended behavior. C51 GPUs are hardlocked to report 256MB of framebuffer.

Thanks,
Lonni

???

It reports 128MB with driver version 1.0.8756 and 512MB with 1.0.8762. For the record, it has 128MB.

netllama 08-02-06 01:23 PM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log

Thanks,
Lonni

zander 08-02-06 01:41 PM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
The video memory size reported by 1.0-8762 for integrated GPUs reflects the overall amount of memory available to the GPU; this includes dedicated video memory (i.e. set aside by the SBIOS) and system memory that's dynamically accessible; older driver releases didn't report this correctly. It's unlikely that the performance problem you're seeing is related to this.

tabanus 08-02-06 03:49 PM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
So, if I'm getting this right, when driver version 1.0.8756 says 512MB, there is, in fact, 512MB available for use by the GPU, even though "only" 128MB has been set by the BIOS? Is all that available for textures and the like?

zbiggy 08-03-06 08:18 AM

Re: VideoRam not Setting Properly
 
I have the same with geforce 6150. In bios I set 64MB but driver reports 262144 kBytes.

Is this additional memory allocated in dynamic way when needed or in static way just on driver init?

If this memory is allocated when needed this is cool, something like TC.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.