nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   7600 can't read EDID, no X display (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=74231)

sihde 07-30-06 05:31 PM

7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
I just upgraded from a 6600 to a 7600GS (both PCI Express). The 7600 works OK in text mode, but I get nothing but a black screen when I start X. The monitor acts like the signal disappeared. It works fine with the 6600.

According to the log, the 7600 seems unable to read the EDID. If I specify the exact same modeline that worked with the 6600, the log shows everything is fine, the mode is in use, but no display at all. I tried two different monitors, both of which work with the 6600, and same result -- the log complains about the EDID, and I get a blank screen.

This is nearly the same problem as mentioned in this thread:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68358

except text mode display does work OK for me.

Any hope that a new version of the driver, or a card bios update will fix the problem? Has anybody else seen this?

I did try "UseEDID" "FALSE", and it made no difference. I also noticed in the log that the driver thinks this card is an "unknown chipset". (It reports the GPU implementation as 0x4b.)

Thanks,

Steve

netllama 07-30-06 06:13 PM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
Please start X with the following command (without UseEDID in your X configuration):
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni

sihde 07-30-06 06:29 PM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
OK, I emailed the bug report with the log.

Thanks,

Steve

netllama 07-30-06 08:12 PM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
I emailed it where? I was requesting that you post it here.

Thanks,
Lonni

sihde 07-30-06 08:58 PM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
I emailed it where? I was requesting that you post it here.

Emailed to linux-bugs@nvidia.com. Sorry, I misunderstood. Posted as an attachment here.

Thanks,

Steve

netllama 07-30-06 09:06 PM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
I have a few questions:
0) What kind of CRT are you using?
1) Does this problem persist if you do not use the ConnectedMonitor option?
2) Is your display connected directly to the videocard, without any intermediary devices or non-standard cables?
3) Do you still have the 6600? If so, can you generate another bug report while it is connected and working as expected?
4) How did you obtain the 1360x768 modeline that you're using?
5) Have you verified that you're using the most recent BIOS for your motherboard?

Thanks,
Lonni

sihde 07-30-06 11:09 PM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by netllama
I have a few questions:
0) What kind of CRT are you using?
1) Does this problem persist if you do not use the ConnectedMonitor option?
2) Is your display connected directly to the videocard, without any intermediary devices or non-standard cables?
3) Do you still have the 6600? If so, can you generate another bug report while it is connected and working as expected?
4) How did you obtain the 1360x768 modeline that you're using?
5) Have you verified that you're using the most recent BIOS for your motherboard?

Thanks,
Lonni

Removing ConnectedMonitor did the trick!! Thanks!

FYI, I had the same results with two different monitors, one is a Samsung HDTV through the VGA port, the other is a normal Sony computer monitor (I tried the Sony because I figured the TV might be weird about EDIDs, etc., but it didn't seem to make any difference).

The TV (and monitor) are connected directly to the card through a normal VGA cable.

The modeline was generated using get-edid|parse-edid.

Thanks again for your help!!

-Steve

sihde 07-31-06 10:24 AM

Re: 7600 can't read EDID, no X display
 
For posterity's benefit, here's my analysis of the problem. Now that it's working, I notice that the 7600GS calls the monitor "CRT-1", whereas the 6600 called it "CRT-0". But when I used "ConnectedMonitor CRT", the log showed the 7600GS was looking for CRT-0.

My guess is that for the 6600, CRT-0 is the VGA connector, and CRT-1 is used when the VGA-DVI adapter is plugged to the DVI port. And for the 7600GS, the situation is reversed. So when I specified CRT, it defaulted to CRT-0, and was looking for a VGA connector on the DVI port, and couldn't find one, because of course I had it plugged into the regular VGA port.

Probably if I had specified "CRT-1" in the config file it would have worked. I'll give that a try later and post the result here.

Anyway, thanks again for your help, Lonni.

-Steve


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.