nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=74907)

Intangir 08-11-06 11:23 PM

how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
i got xgl/compiz, none of my games work with direct rendering
not even full screen ones

isnt it possible for full screen apps to bypass the xgl/compiz/xglx or whatever and request a direct rendering context directly from the real nvidia glx stuff?


also whats this about Xegl, i see a diagram that shows you can use direct rendering with it, but im not even sure how to tell if i have it

Intangir 08-11-06 11:24 PM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
http://principe.homelinux.net/

Thunderbird 08-12-06 04:15 AM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
XGL doesn't support direct rendering but it uses accelerated indirect rendering. If you want direct rendering figure out at which 'display' the host Xserver is running and connect to it by adjusting the DISPLAY variable.

In case of AIGLX you can get direct rendering but as you know the nvidia drivers don't support it yet (missing texture_from_pixmap).

energyman76b 08-12-06 06:04 AM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
just start a second X like this:
xinit -e xterm -- :1&

switch to it (like alt-ctrl-F8) and start your game there.

It won't even be slower.

pzgren 08-12-06 01:38 PM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by energyman76b
just start a second X like this:
xinit -e xterm -- :1&

switch to it (like alt-ctrl-F8) and start your game there.

It won't even be slower.

With a multi core cpu "yes. Without "no"!

energyman76b 08-12-06 02:08 PM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pzgren
With a multi core cpu "yes. Without "no"!

wrong.

even with a single core cpu you will not see slowdowns.

If you are in the second session, the first one sleeps. And sleeping processes don't need CPU. Or GPU.

pzgren 08-13-06 11:05 AM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by energyman76b
wrong.

even with a single core cpu you will not see slowdowns.

If you are in the second session, the first one sleeps. And sleeping processes don't need CPU. Or GPU.

No, a dream from you? RAM and CPU is always used, same goes for system processes. You can not freeze the whole other session or the other window manager and desktop applications like GNOME and nautilus, X,... running from using the CPU.

energyman76b 08-13-06 11:45 AM

Re: how do you do direct rendering on xgl/compiz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pzgren
No, a dream from you? RAM and CPU is always used, same goes for system processes. You can not freeze the whole other session or the other window manager and desktop applications like GNOME and nautilus, X,... running from using the CPU.

RAM yes
or maybe swap.

But CPU?

NO!

if the process has nothing to do - and waiting for input, without even being displayed is a very good definition for 'nothing to do' it needs no CPU. It is just waiting for the moment, it get back on display and has to react to some mouse/keyboard events.

You can freeze the other session, in fact, if the other session does nothing than waiting for input, so does not load websites, plays videos or music, it will have no impact.

By the way, you can freeze it in the real way: sigstop.
But that is not needed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.