nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   NForce 430 on Debian (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=75248)

Mb81 08-17-06 08:13 PM

NForce 430 on Debian
 
Hello,

did anybody installed Debian on a NForce 430 Board ?

We use Asus M2NPV-VM + SATA.
Debian "Stable" didn`t even recognized the harddrives or ethernet.

So what todo ? Thanks alot.

BashfulTux 08-17-06 08:40 PM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mb81
Hello,

did anybody installed Debian on a NForce 430 Board ?

We use Asus M2NPV-VM + SATA.
Debian "Stable" didn`t even recognized the harddrives or ethernet.

So what todo ? Thanks alot.

Try one of the backported images here they have newer kernels so should help with the hardware detection.

kenyee 08-18-06 09:34 AM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
I've been running Debian sid/unstable on the 939 variant of your board since January w/o problems except the known forcedeth issue w/ warm starts after coming from Windows.
Look at the long 430 thread below to see more examples of boards that work.
BTW, if you use ECC memory, please take a few moments to complain to tsd@asus.com.tw and ask why there aren't any manual ECC settings for scrub time, etc...the BIOS only has an ECC Auto/Disabled setting. The 939 board has lots of manual settings...

Mb81 08-19-06 12:37 PM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
So, with the backported Image and Etch i could do the installation while running on Raid 1. But... when you reboot, the server just stopp and somehow cannot find the Boot Records while on Onboard Raid 1. When i change back to normal IDE, it works.

Does anybody know why or got it running with Raid 1 ? Thanks thanks thanks.

BashfulTux 08-19-06 12:47 PM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mb81
So, with the backported Image and Etch i could do the installation while running on Raid 1. But... when you reboot, the server just stopp and somehow cannot find the Boot Records while on Onboard Raid 1. When i change back to normal IDE, it works.

Does anybody know why or got it running with Raid 1 ? Thanks thanks thanks.

Don't know much about raid having never used it but I seem to remember reading that the /boot partition is supposed to be on a non-raid partition.

kenyee 08-19-06 02:57 PM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
yep, grub doesn't know how to boot off a raid partition, but LILO does...
I installed mine w/ LVM/RAID1...

Lithorus 08-20-06 05:47 AM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
nvm...

Mb81 08-20-06 11:33 AM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kenyee
yep, grub doesn't know how to boot off a raid partition, but LILO does...
I installed mine w/ LVM/RAID1...

Well, how todo that Etch installs Grub without asking..

BashfulTux 08-20-06 11:58 AM

Re: NForce 430 on Debian
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mb81
Well, how todo that Etch installs Grub without asking..

I believe if you type in expert at the start of the install then you get the menu for each of the steps in the installer including one for installing the boot loader which gives you the choice of grub/lilo.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.