nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=75808)

xopen 08-28-06 08:21 AM

Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
2 Attachment(s)
First ot all, many thanks for the support provided by this great forum :)

I've been using NVIDIA linux drivers for several years in different laptops successfully, but after 4 days of intense trials I haven't been able to view anything but a black screen using the NVIDIA graphic driver on my new Compaq Presario V6024EA laptop, which comes with a GeForce 6150 and NVIDIA MCP51 chipset.

When looking at the xorg log file it seems that everything works OK but I only get an iluminated black screen on my laptop, which remains the same when I switch back to the console (if I pass "vga=normal video=vesafb:off" to the kernel, I can use the console again, but not the graphic display).

Searching in this forum I haven't find any solution that works for me, and neither testing with the different driver options documented in the README file. I have an updated BIOS and memory tests work OK. The windoze driver seems to work well, but in linux I only can use the graphic environment using the vesa driver.

I use kubuntu 6.06 (Dapper) with a 2.6.15-26-686 SMP kernel on a AMD Turion 64x2 processor (I know I am only using it in 32 bit mode, but I have the same problem with the 64 bit kernel). I have also uninstalled the linux-restricted-modules and nvidia-glx packages and run the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8774-pkg1.run directly with the same results. Finally I have also tried compiling the latest stable linux kernel (2.6.17.11) but the same black screen problems remains.

I attach the nvidia-bug-report for the two kernels and the kernel configuration files.

Has anyone ever had and/or solved this kind of problem??, any ideas??, I'm really desesperated and thinking on trying to take back my laptop to the store ...

netllama 08-28-06 01:22 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
This is a known bug and will be resolved in the first 1.0-9xxx series driver.

Thanks,
Lonni

xopen 08-28-06 02:41 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
Thanks, those are good news, so I will keep on with this laptop ... glup

Mug 08-29-06 05:13 AM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
MCP61 + GeForce 6100 same problem, eagerly awaiting new drivers.

boz649 10-06-06 10:41 AM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
Not that I'm trying to sound ingrateful or impatient - I'm only curious - but have they mentioned an expected release date?

netllama 10-06-06 11:13 AM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
1.0-9625 was released a few weeks ago.
http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_do...etadriver.html

-Lonni

boz649 10-08-06 02:07 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
Thanks netllama. The beta driver works great. I'm able to use all of the screen savers again, but I haven't tried video games yet. I still haven't decided if I want to shell out $5/mo to use Cedega or not. Otherwise, everything works great.

xopen 10-08-06 02:40 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
The beta driver also solved the problem for me, many thanks!! ... now I am trying to make beryl/xgl work ...

tmchardy 11-03-06 05:40 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
A bit old, but yes, these drivers get me going on the same hardware too. I'm glad it's not just me as I was feeling pretty alone being the only one who couldn't use the 8xxx series drivers. However, I *DO* run cedega, and there is an issue right now. Apparently boxes that are supposed to be transparent are showing up as black squares, rendering the only game I play, WoW, completely useless. So although I can get into my OS now, it's still not usable as a gaming machine. (Close, but no cigar.)

Also, I've noticed that if I boot up with these drivers, if I Ctrl-Alt-Fx to another console, the screen will be odd colours and will occasionally lock up the computer (complete repower the machine freeze). I don't know if anyone else is seeing that. I'm hoping that these two issues will be resolved in the release of this driver. For now, at least I can actually boot the machine with these drivers.

If anyone knows how to solve either of these two issues without having to sit patiently and wait for the next beta or release, please let me know.

btw, I'm using a Compaq Presario V6030US with FC6 x86_64. :) Finding someone with a 6042 sounds about as close as I'm going to get. I'm still strugling with the audio (headphone issue) but I found a few alsa fixes that I'm going to try that may solve that - so it sounds like more of an alsa issue then a problem with the mcp51 audio.

zbiggy 11-03-06 08:24 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
There is more new driver 1.0-9626 here:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d..._1.0-9626.html
Nvidia says it adds support for Quadro plex only. Some people says that this driver fixed some bugs for them.

I use it on my geforce 6150 and works fine.

tmchardy 11-06-06 06:03 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
Using 9625 or 9626 makes no difference in my results. Most people who claim they *can* use the old 8776 (or whatever they were) drivers say that the black square problem doesn't affect them in that release, only in the 9xxx beta drivers. Would there be a setting I could change somewhere that would make whatever colour these boxes are as transparent (like the old drivers) with the new beta drivers? Something I can change and re "make". I already have to do this in other places just to get the beta drivers to install, so it couldn't hurt at this point. :)

tmchardy 11-06-06 07:21 PM

Re: Black screen in NVIDIA MCP51 + GeForce 6150
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xopen
I haven't been able to view anything but a black screen using the NVIDIA graphic driver on my new Compaq Presario V6024EA laptop, which comes with a GeForce 6150 and NVIDIA MCP51 chipset.

Xopen, Do you happen to be dual booting? I'm really curious as to the BusID information reported for this in windows. Specifically the:

Audio Device
Network Device
Video Device

I have strong suspicions that these 3 might be getting reported wrong and hence the problem I've been having on my 6030 with one device not working when the driver for another isn't installed. Though I don't know what I'll do with this info once I have it, at least I can verify these devices are using the correct busid. I just really don't want to go through the hassle of installing windows, then re-installing FC6. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.