nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   CPUs, Motherboards And Memory (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Overclocking My FX-55 For the first Time (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=77423)

AliP 09-29-06 06:09 PM

Overclocking My FX-55 For the first Time

Ok, i just updated my bios and fixed some thermal problems, now when not in a load My fx-55 runs at 25-30c :cool:, I'm using Innovatek Water cooling.

My goal Is 3GHZ that seems to be what standard users are getting to.

However since this is my first time i Want to take babysteps, please guide me trough the process.

Here's my hardware:

550W PSU : NQ-4775-500BU (google for further specs)
Abit-AV8 MB
FX-55* CPU - Innovatek watercooling 28c
Nvidia Gforce 6800GT OC - Innovatek Watercooling 45c
G-Skill Mem : http://gskill.de/product_sp01682x.html
4 Hard drives 3IDE 1Sata Total space: 1110GB
1 Disc Drive
CM Stacker Case - med Airflow

Is my PSU big enough?

How do i Overclock, i Have very little Bios experience and i have about no idea how my cpu works, Please link me to a guide or teach me, ive seen stuff like multiplyer and fsb and ive got no idea what they mean. Please tell me or link me to a guide about how i go trough with this, how safe is this i just want to go to a max of 3Ghz i dont want to go to some speeds that'll fry my cpu.

Thanks.

AliP 09-29-06 06:18 PM

Re: Overclocking My FX-55 For the first Time

Here are some ifno this is what i get in some Cpu overveiw tool:

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/5...apimageqc1.png

As u can probably see i dont understand a thing other that that my cpu is 2.6 ghz and was supposed to be really good when i bought it.

Please help me.

Heinz68 09-29-06 07:55 PM

Motherboard, Memory, & CPU -
Overclocking Guide

Newbie and Advance Version
All in detail explained

Always updated, last on August 5, 2006
Can be downloaded

Use Google
Thousands of other overclocking guides written