nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=77525)

SH64 10-01-06 08:56 PM

Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Ok since i got my E6700 i couldnt really tell how powerfull it is because i couldnt see any real benefit in real games since most of them are usually GPU limited. i mean yeah i get higher scores in SuperPI & 3DMark , but thats nothing if theres no significant advantage in real-world games.

anyway long story short i took LOTR : Battle For Middle Earth 2 for a spin with the new Conore CPU to test it againest the 4800+ .. i asked my friend to make a savegame with insane amount of army to see how the processors with cope with their AI & pathfiniding .. etc
FYI BFME2 is very CPU demanding esp when you build a large army & get into battles.
i took the savegame & with little mod i turned it into a CPU benchmark & here are some quick results :
1) notice the test will stress only the CPU , the GPU seems to have no effect ( i made sure of that by running the bench on both 800x600 & 1280x1024 res .. exact same results ).
2) Idnetical settings used & high-end GPUs.

3 systems where used .. 2 of mine & 1 of my friend's .

4400+ @2.3Ghz = 8fps
4800+ @2.4Ghz = 9fps (~12.5%+ over 4400@2.3)
E6700 @2.7Ghz = 14fps ! (55.6% + over 4800+)

Now if there are enough members here interesed on contributing on the benchie i'll be happy to upload the savegame & give instructions on how to do it .. & i'm sure this bench will be very helpfull for overclockers to test o/c advantage in a realtime bench aswell as getting ready for C&C3 which will be using the same engine.
if there isnt enough people interested in this (or dont have the game actually to test) .. well i'll leave it at that in hope that some readers can make use of it or take notes.
:)

EDIT : see post #6 for the savegame & instrcutions.

ArturNOW 10-02-06 04:57 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Is that game multithreaded?

Is it possible to disable one core and benchmark it again?

SH64 10-03-06 05:52 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArturNOW
Is that game multithreaded?

Is it possible to disable one core and benchmark it again?

I dont think it is .. but i can try!

Stoneyguy 10-04-06 09:33 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
sure I'll give the game save a try.

I'm running:

6400 @2.44
1 gig of DDR 333 Hyper X at 2 CL
7800 GS oced to 1330 memory and 440 GPU

Redeemed 10-05-06 05:00 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Stoneyguy
sure I'll give the game save a try.

I'm running:

6400 @2.44
1 gig of DDR 333 Hyper X at 2 CL
7800 GS oced to 1330 memory and 440 GPU

I don't think the game would need to make use of dual-core systems. I'm using an A64 3400 s754 and it runs fine on my rig. And I have everything maxed at 1920x1440. Not sure how it could benefit from a dual-core setup.

SH64 10-05-06 07:12 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Ok heres the save game .. notice that it was taken with patch 1.05 (dunno if its going to be compatible with the new 1.06 patch) :

http://rapidshare.de/files/35572658/...hmark.rar.html

instrcutions on how to bench :
1) Preferable settings : 1280x1024,4xAA,16xAF, Ultra high IQ. (thats why a High-end GPU is recommended to make most accurate scores)
2) load the saved game from skirmish
3) when game is loaded DONT move the mouse cursor to/or leave the scene !! just press "Q" (defualt key to seclect all battalions) & then right click on the ground so the whole selected army will come over to the scene.
4) Now watch your framerate with FRAPS after the right click & write down your most minimum framerate!
thats it! :D .. sorry its a little tricky , but you have to do it this way to get accurate results.

now if your most minimum framerate is in :
- [5-9fps] i.e. single digits then you are in avarage speed
- [10-15fps] then you are in good speed
- [16-20fps] = high speed
- [21+fps] .. you are a GOD , you shouldnt be here talking to us!! :D

& finally i'll stress again : the bench has nothing to do with your GPU if its a high-end .. its all about CPU computation power. you can try the benchmark @800x600 & up to 2048x1536 , you will get the same min framerate.

Stoneyguy 10-05-06 10:55 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
10 fps

and it just barely flashed 10 twice. :(

On a side note: I'm new to the fraps program. I set it to record the min/max/average but I can't find it anywhere. The readme says it's in a benchmark subdir but I can't even find that subdir. Do I need the full paid version or am I missing something?

SH64 10-05-06 11:03 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Stoneyguy
10 fps

and it just barely flashed 10 twice. :(

On a side note: I'm new to the fraps program. I set it to record the min/max/average but I can't find it anywhere. The readme says it's in a benchmark subdir but I can't even find that subdir. Do I need the full paid version or am I missing something?

Well 10fps is not bad .. just to show how BFME2 can be a CPU killer!!

BTW : you said
Quote:

I'm running:
6400 @2.44
1 gig of DDR 333 Hyper X at 2 CL
Is that a Core 2 Duo 6400 ?? how come you are using DDR333 with it ?? .. maybe you listed something wrong here ?

as for FRAPS you should find the results in the main dir (ex. C:\Fraps) under tha name FRAPSLOG.TXT

Stoneyguy 10-05-06 05:06 PM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
No I didn't list anything wrong. I'm using the ASrock mobo that allows you to use DDR 266,333,400 along with DDR2 (but not DDR2 800). That's also how I'm able to use the 7800 GS as it's an AGP card.

Can't find the Frapslog.txt either :(
I guess I did something wrong.

fatal1ty 10-06-06 09:27 PM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
I don't like seeing percentages when the numbers are so low. Like when ATI releases drivers and the release notes claim a 55% increase in game X at 1600 x 1200 with 6xaa / 16x af... what kills me is when 55% = 4 or 5 FPS thats just LAME!!!!!!

I see your excitment...realizing that the game MIGHT be CPU dependant but come on man if you are using a 939 with DDR 1 system and have to fork out $200 for a decent conroe motherboard, another $525 for the e6700 chip and another $400 for decent 2GB of DDR 2 then I sure as hell better see more of an increase than 5 fps...I almost died laughing when you noted it to be 55.6% increase over 4800, I'm sorry but 14 fps still sucks LOL.

4400+ @2.3Ghz = 8fps
4800+ @2.4Ghz = 9fps (~12.5%+ over 4400@2.3)
E6700 @2.7Ghz = 14fps ! (55.6% + over 4800+)

Wow I'm sold on a conroe time to sell my 3Ghz overclocked X2 3800 and blow $1100 to gain 2 or 3 more FPS... W00000t!

Tygerwoody 10-07-06 08:27 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fatal1ty
I don't like seeing percentages when the numbers are so low. Like when ATI releases drivers and the release notes claim a 55% increase in game X at 1600 x 1200 with 6xaa / 16x af... what kills me is when 55% = 4 or 5 FPS thats just LAME!!!!!!

I see your excitment...realizing that the game MIGHT be CPU dependant but come on man if you are using a 939 with DDR 1 system and have to fork out $200 for a decent conroe motherboard, another $525 for the e6700 chip and another $400 for decent 2GB of DDR 2 then I sure as hell better see more of an increase than 5 fps...I almost died laughing when you noted it to be 55.6% increase over 4800, I'm sorry but 14 fps still sucks LOL.

4400+ @2.3Ghz = 8fps
4800+ @2.4Ghz = 9fps (~12.5%+ over 4400@2.3)
E6700 @2.7Ghz = 14fps ! (55.6% + over 4800+)

Wow I'm sold on a conroe time to sell my 3Ghz overclocked X2 3800 and blow $1100 to gain 2 or 3 more FPS... W00000t!

:rolleyes:

You are crazy if you dont think that is a noticable improvement. 55% is still 55% no mater how many ways you cut it. And your logic is thoroughly flawed by saying you "blow $1100" on the system. So if I have a 500 dollar video card and I sell it... then buy a 600 dollar video card is that blowing 600 dollars? I highly doubt you would say that. Bottom line is that the conroe system costs about a grand... you a right. However, if you were to build an Athlon system to try to get remotely close to those scores you will be spending ALOT more money on some FX chip(and then if you bring overclocking into the scenario those Conroe chips overclock WAY WAY better). I'd say it was money well spent.


Nice scores btw. ;)

Stoneyguy 10-07-06 10:10 AM

Re: Realtime CPU benchmark for BFME2 owners
 
Well I spent 300 bucks and got an ASrock mobo and a 6400. I kept my memory and my 7800 GS card. Using this setup and a mild overclock (the board is a poor overclocker) of 2.45 from 2.13, I'm able to best a stock FX-62 in most of Sandra's benchmarks. Yes I know it's synthetic benchmarks, but even though to spend only 300 bucks and get performance that is even in the same ballpark as a FX-62 is amazing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.