nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=78048)

directedition 10-11-06 09:26 PM

HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
I am trying to hook up my Ubuntu box with a Geforce 2 Ti to my HDTV (using the legacy driver). This is using the VGA interface. It works just fine in 4:3 resolutions like 640x480 and 1024x768, but no 16:9 resolutions will work. Even when I have 1366x768 (native resolution of my TV) it will ignore that and launch as 1024x768. Does anyone have any clue what I am missing?

(nana2)

netllama 10-11-06 09:30 PM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni

directedition 10-11-06 09:56 PM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Here it is.

Thanks

netllama 10-11-06 11:25 PM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
According to the X log:

(II) NVIDIA(0): EDID reported maximum dimensions for display device CRT-0:
(II) NVIDIA(0): width : 1024
(II) NVIDIA(0): height : 768

If you want to attempt 1360x768, you need to provide a modeline in your X configuration.

You also might want to upgrade to 1.0-7184.

Thanks,
Lonni

directedition 10-12-06 11:16 AM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
Is there a way to make it ignore the EDID numbers? Even with a modeline it refuses to try. Under Windows I was able to get 1360x768 by forcing it to let me select unsupported resolutions.

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1360x768" (width 1360 is larger than
(WW) NVIDIA(0): EDID-specified maximum 1024)

netllama 10-12-06 11:31 AM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
You could try using the UseEdid option (see the driver README for more details). However, the fact that you have to force unsupported modes even in Windows leads me to wonder if something is wrong with the EDID in your display.

-Lonni

directedition 10-12-06 02:15 PM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
I suppose if I want to do this I'll need to buy a more recent card. It seems legacy drivers don't support UseEDID

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEDID" is not used
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEdidDpi" is not used
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEdidFreq" is not used

netllama 10-12-06 02:36 PM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
The legacy driver should support the IgnoreEDID option instead.

Thanks,
Lonni

directedition 10-12-06 03:47 PM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
Awesome, it works now. Thanks a lot. Hope other people who buy this TV (Insignia NS-27LCD) can get theirs working.

kaivoksde 12-06-06 11:22 AM

Re: HDTV output from Geforce 2 Ti?
 
DIRECTEDITION: I have the exam same TV(Insignia NS-27LCD), and am having similiar issues... I turned off EDID and when i attempt to output at say like 1280x720 (or any widescreen resolution) the monitor will display the NO SIGNAL box. How did you get it to display widescreen resolutions? Maybe the issue is with my desktop, however, but I feel as though it may be an issue with the TV.

I have it hooked up through VGA as well. I am outputing from an ATI x800 Pro video card with 256mb ram. I am running through Windows Vista RC1 with Vista drivers for card (ATI CATALYST). I know this is an nVidia/linux forum but i was hoping since it may be an issue with the TV you could help me.

Thanks,
Ed


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.