nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Have to reinstall drivers each logon for FC6. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=81986)

bumfluff 12-08-06 01:45 PM

Have to reinstall drivers each logon for FC6.

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Linux and FC6 so go easy please! :D

I've successfully installed the nvidia 1.0-9631 drivers and they're running perfectly which is clearly seen in GNOME and KDE.

However, each time I reboot, the drivers are lost and the have to be installed again for them to work.

Could someone point me to some log files to look at to try and work out what's going on.

Many thanks in advance

Joel

zaOnline 12-08-06 04:38 PM

Re: Have to reinstall drivers each logon for FC6.

I had the same problem with Debian. I figured out that the problem was the nvidia-glx script debian ran every time it booted. When I disabled the driver installation worked well.

Look for nvidia-glx or linux-restricted-drivers under /lib/ directory.. ubuntu have a directory named linux-restricted-driver that contained a nvidia driver, you need to delete it and install the drivers from nvidia if it exist on your system.

iki488 12-08-06 05:53 PM

try

Code:

sudo nano /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/modules.alias
(change 2.6.17-10-generic with your kernel version)

and comment these two lines :
Code:

alias char-major-195-* nvidia_legacy
alias pci:v000010DEd*sv*sd*bc03sc00i00* nvidia_legacy

bumfluff 12-09-06 03:58 AM

Thanks for the swift reply. I've tried both the above and no joy. (I can't restricted drivers).

I've noticed a couple more things that may be of use with the diagnosis:

1. Upon bootup I receive the error message nivdia kernel not found..nvidia.ko cannot be found.