nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Overclocking intel 2.66 Ghz dual core on intel motherboard??? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=84463)

emaan 01-17-07 06:35 AM

Overclocking intel 2.66 Ghz dual core on intel motherboard???
 
Hi guys,

Im having a little problem. I have intel 2.66 Ghz D dual core processor on intel D101 motherboard. I want to overclock my cpu as i have heard its very capable of overclocking to monster speeds. But the problem is, i cant get the bios to overclock it. I heard u cant overclock if u have an intel motherboard. So i was wondering if there is any way to overclock my cpu in any way, be it through bios or using any other software??? I dont want to change my mobo at the moment, and im not happy with the performance my 2.66 Ghz D (133*20) cpu is giving. (I also read this processor can only be overclocked by increasing this 133mhz*20 thing.)

Any ideas?

And also...this mobo of mine supports only DDR ram. I have 1 gb of ram...(two 512s) n i tried to overclock them from bios. I changed the speed from 400mhz to 533mhz. Started the windows, n nothing went wrong. But im not sure if this is the right thing to do with ur RAM. Is this gonna harm my RAM in anyway in the future? And are the benefits of overclocking the RAM worth it?

Thanx.:)

emaan 01-18-07 06:03 PM

Re: Overclocking intel 2.66 Ghz dual core on intel motherboard???
 
Is anyone gonna answer me?? I tried to post this question in the cpu forum, but the dear moderator deleted it. It's been 36hours n no replies...

tacos4me 01-18-07 06:24 PM

Re: Overclocking intel 2.66 Ghz dual core on intel motherboard???
 
You definitely won't be overclock via the BIOS with that board. That's the only way I'd ever overclock for 24/7 use, but you could try software, such as ClockGen. I don't really recommend it though. You'd need to crack open your case to locate your PLL model on the motherboard, which you would need to manually input into ClockGen, and there's no guarantee that it would work for you.

http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php

Read about it there. I'd seriously reccomend just buying a new board if you're interested in overclocking.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.