nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=84681)

CrashMaster 01-20-07 11:52 AM

BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
I have a wierd problem with my 6800gt the stock speeds of the card is supposed to be 370mhz/1ghz. For some reason the card wants to run at 395/1.07ghz by default. (This card is not stable at that speed and I would be happy to allways run it at stock (yeh I know that is :werd: ))

I have tried reformating and it still tries to clock its self at that speed. Right now I have to use RiviaTuner or coolbits to manualy turn it back down to stock. I ran NiBiTor to see what the bios says and it comes back that the card should be running at 370/1ghz......



Msi K8n Neo2 (nforce3)
BFG 6800gt
2gb ram
Athlon64 3200
XP Pro 64 (right now same problem with 32bit)

CrashMaster

Quick420 01-20-07 04:01 PM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
Is it a new card,or did you buy it used? Maybe someone has been tinkering with the bios.Flash the bios with the original and it'll work.

CrashMaster 01-20-07 04:04 PM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
nope had it since the week it came out ... (the great old Best Buy price mess up (pd $300 when it was 400+ everywere elese)...
I have had only one other wierd problem with it and that was with java and either java or nv fixed the issue in an update (computer would black screen one of the 2 monitors when java came on)

grey_1 01-20-07 06:44 PM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
Afaik the bios settings in your mobo shouldn't cause any issues like that, but it's worth a look. You could try loading default settings and see if that cures it. Other than that, the ultras reference speeds were 400/1100 iirc. Maybe you got a mis-packaged ultra? :D

CrashMaster 01-21-07 02:05 PM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
yeh I have tried resetting the bois before ...

I have tried running Ntune on this computer before (old vers and now have tried the newer ones....(newest will not work at all on this install of xp64)) is there anything with that program that could of messed up the vid bios or main board bios that could out last a bios reset?

grey_1 01-21-07 02:16 PM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
Not to my knowledge, ntune shouldn't cause that. I mean, you've gone as far as a clean install, that would take care of anything third party wise that would oc your card. My only other suggestion would be to dl a fresh bios and flash it. mvtech has everything you would need.

I've never heard of this problem on any card before, so flashing it is just a suggestion. I'm sure you've googled and searched the manufacturers web site to see if any others had this.

Good luck with it.

CrashMaster 01-21-07 10:56 PM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
thanks yeh I guess I may have to try it... or try for an rma once I build a new system (that is the main reason why I want to get the clocks fixed so when I retire this system to back up status I don't have to worry about this issue)

grey_1 01-22-07 07:24 AM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
The rma would be good if they'll do it. Have you tried tech support yet? It has to be legitimately defective if the bios is reading 370, and only a 20 mghz oc is causing instability. My 6800GT was perfectly stable at 420 (BFGoc).

Well, good luck with it, hope you get it sorted.

coldkiss 03-08-07 04:24 AM

Re: BFG 6800 Gt will NOT stay at stock speeds
 
Have you checked the bios on the Msi K8n Neo2 (nforce3) for "NV/ATI Speed Up"? If this option doesn't show on your bios then it may be hidden so you will have to press "SHIFT+F2 then ALT+F3" which unlocks hidden options in Cell menu and in advanced chipset options. I reckon this could be the culprit that is overclocking your 6800gt more than you'd like.

For more info on tinkering with the bios on the K8N Neo2 check out these links:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=43033

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=339051

Good Luck and let us know if this solves your issues!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.