nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   x segfaulting when starting (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=8470)

DaFire 03-09-03 04:57 PM

x segfaulting when starting
 
I have a gf4 with 2 crt attached.. X-Config is working with nv module but when I change to nvidia it segfaults on start...
anyone an idea ?

Quote:

XFree86 Version 4.3.0
Release Date: 27 February 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.20-gentoo-r1 i686 [ELF]
Build Date: 09 March 2003
Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Sun Mar 9 23:45:24 2003
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
(==) ServerLayout "Simple Layout"
(**) |-->Screen "Screen 1" (0)
(**) | |-->Monitor "My Monitor"
(**) | |-->Device "** NVIDIA (generic) [nv]"
(**) |-->Input Device "Mouse1"
(**) |-->Input Device "Keyboard1"
(**) XKB: rules: "xfree86"
(**) XKB: model: "pc105"
(**) XKB: layout: "gb"
(**) FontPath set to "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/m
isc/,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:u
nscaled,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/,/usr/X1
1R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
(**) RgbPath set to "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
(==) ModulePath set to "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
(--) using VT number 7

(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libbitmap.a
(II) Module bitmap: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libpcidata.a
(II) Module pcidata: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
(--) PCI: (0:9:0) Brooktree Corporation Bt848 Video Capture rev 18, Mem @ 0xdddf
f000/12
(--) PCI:*(1:0:0) nVidia Corporation NV25 [GeForce4 Ti 4200] rev 163, Mem @ 0xde
000000/24, 0xd0000000/27, 0xddc80000/19
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdbe.a
(II) Module dbe: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libextmod.a
(II) Module extmod: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libtype1.a
(II) Module type1: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.2
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libspeedo.a
(II) Module speedo: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.1
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so
(II) Module glx: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.4191
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.o
(II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.4191
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/input/mouse_drv.o
(II) Module mouse: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
(II) NVIDIA XFree86 Driver 1.0-4191 Mon Dec 9 11:51:41 PST 2002
(II) NVIDIA Unified Driver for all NVIDIA GPUs
(--) Assigning device section with no busID to primary device
(--) Chipset NVIDIA GPU found
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(II) Module vgahw: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 0.1.0
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xD0000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xDE000000
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce4 Ti 4200
Segmentation Violation

adminc 03-10-03 03:17 PM

slow as hell.
 
I had the same prob.

Try this:
in etc/x11 you have the file XF86Config-4
add Option "RenderAccel"
That helped mine a bit

And of course the lower ur resolution is and things it has to load such as: the files it loads in kde or gnome the u have all the things in services to...

Even check if ur dma is enabled on ur hd.. do this with hdparm.

I tweaked my system as i wanted and it toke the slow loading away. but dont ask me exactly what it was.

Hope this could give u some idea. maybee ??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.