nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Home Theater A/V (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   HDMI issues (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=85737)

thor1182 02-05-07 10:28 AM

HDMI issues
 
At least a year, if not 2 ago I bought a DVD/VHS combo player that can upscale DVD movies. I think the model is, SD-V592 http://tacpservice.toshiba.com/Consu...-v592_om_e.pdf, but I found to my dismay after I bought it that it only upscales with HDMI... but seeing has I didn't have a TV at the time that had HDMI in, I didn't get to use it.

Now I do have a TV that has HDMI in it, and I can't get the stupid HDMI connection to work on my TV. The Manuel says to just hit the HDMI button, and it will say "HDMI" on the screen. However mine on says "OFF" when I hit the HDMI button and the TV says weak or no signal. The TV is the Samsung HL-S5687W. I'm using the HDMI cable that came with the player. I have not fought with it for very long becuase I only got the TV Sunday, and my 360 can upscale to 1080p as opposed to 1080i of the DVD player, but I would still like to get it to work.

Ancient 02-05-07 12:00 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
That model does upscale over the component input but it will only upscale non-protected content.

Question. Do you have the TV set to the HDMI source? Your description that it's showing weak or no signal would indicate that the source input is set to the TV tuner.

thor1182 02-05-07 12:33 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
I have it on the HDMI input, and it says that. I can get picture from the component if I switch to it, but it goes down to 480p. The TV knows its connected, but doesn't get a signal from it.

I half wonder if its something wrong with the cable in terms of handshake issues. I thought the thing with HDMI is to make it easier to connect things, but if this is the norm of how HDMI lives, I hope the standard dies a horrible death.

Mr. Hunt 02-05-07 12:54 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
Is it turned on? ;)

But anyway... maybe you have a weird player where you have to switch it manually to ouput through HDMI? Some are automatic, and some are manual... try hooking it up with both, use component and look through some of the menus or something.

Ancient 02-05-07 01:48 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by thor1182
I have it on the HDMI input, and it says that. I can get picture from the component if I switch to it, but it goes down to 480p. The TV knows its connected, but doesn't get a signal from it.

I half wonder if its something wrong with the cable in terms of handshake issues. I thought the thing with HDMI is to make it easier to connect things, but if this is the norm of how HDMI lives, I hope the standard dies a horrible death.

OK. Sorry to ask stupid questions but one can rarely tell the knowlege level of a person with the problem so it's best to start with the obvious stuff. Plus, you wouldn't believe the people I've run into who don't know to switch the source on their TV (Hello, brother-in-law) for their various input devices.

Here's another stupid question - Looking through the manual for your DVD player there's an HDMI button on the front that you have to press to enable HDMI (which also disables component and S-VGA output from the player). I'm assuming you've pressed that button?

thor1182 02-05-07 02:00 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
yeah, I understand the not knowing the level of knowledge of the user..

I read the manual, and it says press the button to turn HDMI on, well I press the button, and all it says is "OFF". I have put in component input on the TV and hit the HDMI button to see if it would disable it like the manual says it will and switch over to HDMI, but component stays on.

I currently have both the component and HDMI plugged in, so I can at least see it outputting to one of the outs. It seems like such a dumb problem, I mean the instructions say push the little button in the front, and I do and... nothing. If this is how Toshiba's HD-DVD players work, Blu - Ray is going to win the format war just because the players suck.

Ancient 02-05-07 02:10 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
You might want to contact Toshiba's customer service to see if there's a firmware upgrade for that model. If there is, they'll mail you a disk with the updated firmware.

thor1182 02-05-07 02:13 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
Hurm, I'll think about that. To a point, I don't know if its worth the effort because my 360 can do a better job upscaling because it can go up to 1080p as opposed to 1080i.

Ancient 02-05-07 02:24 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
The 360 doesn't upscale standard DVDs, at least over component, not sure about VGA. It passes the signal through in its native resolution.

If you want 1080i or 1080p from the 360 you'll have to have the HD DVD player, and then only HD DVDs will display at those resolutions.

thor1182 02-05-07 03:11 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
yeah I know. Thats the reason why I chose the TV I did, becuase it takes 1080p through VGA. It only upscales DVD's up with the VGA. I don't know if you have to use the HD-DVD player addon for it to do that or not. I only use the addon when playing DVD's HD or not so I am not affected if it only upscales when using the addon.

Tygerwoody 02-05-07 03:31 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
HDMI blows. Join the club. I had to learn the hard way just like you.

thor1182 02-05-07 03:44 PM

Re: HDMI issues
 
apparently the player uses two different chips, one for analog, one for Digital, and the digital one has some issues. I think there was a firmware update out there for it, but I don't know where to find it. I would rather make it my own as opposed to getting them to send one... but that might be the only way I get said update.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.