nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=86150)

Xevious 02-12-07 01:57 AM

Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
I use XGL and I use the nonXgl script as well as the -xorgAc as well as this script so I can play games:

#!/bin/sh

DISPLAY=":93"

if [ -z "$1" ]; then
echo "Usage: nonXgl <command>"
exit 1
fi

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libGL.so.1 $@


I believe the problem is related to this in the syslog:

os_map_kernel_space: can't map 0xf0008000, invalid context!


Basically whenever running at resolutions at 3000x2000 and above or so it does this. when running @ 3840x1500 it seemed to run ok. Sometimes it just freezes at startup.

Here the bug report because of the size:

http://www.houkouonchi.net/work/nvidia-bug-report.log

Anyone have any ideas what would cause this and also what that error is?

Xevious 02-12-07 02:55 PM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
bump

Xevious 02-15-07 08:26 AM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
bump again.

adamk75 02-15-07 10:48 AM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
First of all, why are you using XGL? The nVidia drivers support all the necessary extensions to run beryl and compiz directly, without the need for XGL. Secondly, both beryl and compiz (and XGL) carry a significant amount of overhead and have put a lot of work on the GPU, so I wouldn't be at all surprised that you experience pauses with Q3A when running XGL.

Xevious 02-15-07 06:20 PM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
I use XGL, because XGL + compiz actually runs pretty good, where as AIGLX + beryl I get about 5 frames a second. and XGL + compiz I get best performance. What is weird is the nvidia drivers I am seeing, and why do I only have these problems at resolutions over 2048x1536? Seems weird to me.

Xevious 02-15-07 06:25 PM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
Also, just to add to my knowledge when I use that script it forwards it to the X server which XGL runs on top of so I didn't even think it was using XGL, but I could be wrong. q3 actually runs fine (no pausing/freezing) other than it looks like crap and the framerate sucks if I run it natively inside of XGL itself (not using that script).

adamk75 02-15-07 06:55 PM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
You don't need to use either XGL or AIGLX with the nVidia drivers. They expose the necessary features for compiz and beryl with direct rendering.

Secondly, even if you're running Q3A on the non-XGL server, you're graphics card is still doing all the processing for XGL and beryl/compiz. That's a whole lot of overhead.

Adam

Xevious 02-15-07 07:02 PM

Re: Get pauses in q3 and weird glitches with XGL
 
Maybe I am missing something here? I need some sort of acceleration as regular X is horidly slow at rendering with just 2d. I will try tomorrow with regular X (no XGL) and see if q3 will run right. What is weird is that my home system can do XGL + 2560x1600 on q3 without any problems but my work comp can't (it locks up) and i often have to go to the console and kill quake 3.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.