nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Mplayer NOT smooth on tv-out. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=86554)

kokoko3k 02-17-07 05:37 AM

Mplayer NOT smooth on tv-out.
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hi,
I've a strange problem which is make me crazy.

If i play a movie using the output driver Xv and mplayer,
i get a very smooth playback on my first display device (CRT-0), but i get jerky motion if i play it on the Second One (TV-0, svideo).

If i use the output module GL it goes well, but you know, expecially for hdtv content, it requires a lot of cpu-power.

I've two separate X servers running on with no Xinerama, no twinview.
And, before you ask, i know composite is enabled in my xorg.conf, but i've no composite manager running on the secondary X server, also, disabling the composite option in xorg.conf makes no difference at all.
Aah, i remember the day i used overlay...

Please, help, Thanks.


(Gentoo 2.6 on amd64 venice 3200+ 7900GS)

Darkvater 02-17-07 06:46 AM

Re: Mplayer NOT smooth on tv-out.
 
Perhaps unrelated but did you sync the refresh rate to your tv-out? My LCD is 60Hz the TV is 50Hz and if I don't set 'Sync to this display device' properly I get jerky playback on tv with tears and jumps.

kokoko3k 02-17-07 07:55 AM

Re: Mplayer NOT smooth on tv-out.
 
Thanks, here's my nvidia-settings:

Screen 0:
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/1033/snapshot3cx9.png

Screen 1:
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/980/snapshot4xw7.png

...as you see, i cannot choose which display device to sync to (?).

The fun is that nothing changes (nor tears!) if i disable vsync from screen 0 or screen 1.

kokoko3k 02-20-07 01:22 PM

Re: Mplayer NOT smooth on tv-out.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Darkvater
Perhaps unrelated but did you sync the refresh rate to your tv-out? My LCD is 60Hz the TV is 50Hz and if I don't set 'Sync to this display device' properly I get jerky playback on tv with tears and jumps.

Man you were right, it's nvidia-settings that doesn't work very well in loading settings, in fact if i open the gui and de/reselect all the voices it syncs fine...

But my ~/.nvidia-settings-rc is correct, i've:
Quote:

1/SyncToVBlank=1
1/XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank=1
1/XVideoBlitterSyncToVBlank=1
1/XVideoSyncToDisplay=256
And if i query them:
nvidia-settings -q all|grep -i Sync|grep Attribute
Quote:

Attribute 'SyncToVBlank' (klinux:0.0): 1.
Attribute 'XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank' (klinux:0.0): 1.
Attribute 'XVideoBlitterSyncToVBlank' (klinux:0.0): 1.
Attribute 'XVideoSyncToDisplay' (klinux:0.0): 0x00000001.
Attribute 'SyncToVBlank' (klinux:0.1): 1.
Attribute 'XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank' (klinux:0.1): 1.
Attribute 'XVideoBlitterSyncToVBlank' (klinux:0.1): 1.
Attribute 'XVideoSyncToDisplay' (klinux:0.1): 0x00000100.
...which should be correct too, but something has no effect on TV-0 (:0.1)

So i added:
Quote:

nvidia-settings -a :0.1/XVideoSyncToDisplay=256
nvidia-settings -a :0.1/XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank=1
nvidia-settings -a :0.1/XVideoBlitterSyncToVBlank=1
to my ~/.kde/Autostart/nvidia.sh
...And now everything 'seems' to work :D

Hope this will help someone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.