nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=87301)

ewigg 03-01-07 02:20 AM

Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
1 Attachment(s)
I'm trying to set mode 1680x1050 (which is the monitor's native resolution) but the best I can get is 1400x1050.

From Xorg.0.log it seems the monitor is supplying two different sets of information about itself:
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): 135.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
...
(--) NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 150.0 MHz

and later on the monitor thinks the native mode is this:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 146.25 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1680, 1960
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2136, 2240
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1050, 1053
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1059, 1089
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/+

But the driver rejects it because the pixel clock is > 135MHz. So I tried a mode line with a resolution 1680x1050 that had a pixel clock of 134MHz but the driver rejected that as too large for the monitor.

Why does the driver think the monitor's characteristics are different to what EDID reports and how can I fix it?

Thunderbird 03-01-07 02:24 AM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
You could try adding a line like: Option "IgnoreEdid"

ewigg 03-01-07 03:35 AM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
I tried that, and ended up with a much lower resolution. Most of the other modes were rejected because they were not 60Hz.

I think (hope) that the EDID information is correct but somehow the driver is getting information from elsewhere that is wrong.

ewigg 03-01-07 03:50 AM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
Could it be that this part of the log file:

(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce FX 5200 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): 135.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): Native FlatPanel Scaling is supported
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): DFP modes are limited to 60 Hz refresh
(--) NVIDIA(0): rate

is referring the the graphics card and not the monitor? Does it mean my GeForce FX 5200 has the 135Mhz maximum pixel clock and it's too puny to run at 1680x1050 through DVI?

pe1chl 03-01-07 04:20 AM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
The modeline is a bit funny, it looks like it is for a CRT instead of an LCD.
This makes the clock too high and above the 135 MHz limit.
However, a 1680x1050 panel should be no problem with 135 MHz.
Try it with a modeline like this:

Modeline "1680x1050_60.00_rb" 119.00 1680 1728 1760 1840 1050 1053 1059 1080 +HSync -Vsync

That has only 119 MHz clock.

ewigg 03-01-07 04:33 AM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
That mode validated OK, but the driver complained that it was too large for the monitor which is wrong.

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1680x1050_60.00_rb":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: Custom ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 119.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1680, 1728
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1760, 1840
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1050, 1053
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1059, 1080
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/-
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode "1680x1050_60.00_rb" is too large for AOC AOC203VW

netllama 03-01-07 11:55 AM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
ewigg,
The bug report that you've attached seems to be badly mangled. Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni

ewigg 03-01-07 01:48 PM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
1 Attachment(s)
So it is! This one should be better.

netllama 03-01-07 02:03 PM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
As you've already noted, your graphics card has a 135Mhz max pixelclock, and is only single link TMDS capable:

(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): 135.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): AOC AOC203VW (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS

The EDID in your display indicates the following:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 146.25 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1680, 1960
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2136, 2240
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1050, 1053
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1059, 1089
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/+

You could try the following option to deal with the "Mode "1680x1050_60.00_rb" is too large" error:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"

however, I think the bottom line here is that your hardware isn't going to be able to natively do 1680x1050.

Thanks,
Lonni

ewigg 03-01-07 03:18 PM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
For some reason "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck" is unrecognized and ignored.

I think I'll just accept that the FX 5200 was not made to do 1680x1050 regardless of pixel clocks or whatever.

Thanks anyway,
Ed.

pe1chl 03-01-07 03:38 PM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ewigg
I think I'll just accept that the FX 5200 was not made to do 1680x1050 regardless of pixel clocks or whatever.

Well, I had my 1920x1200 screen working on an FX 5200 until I bought a 6600GT.
You will have to tell the driver to skip some checks. Make sure your option commands are in the right place.

netllama 03-01-07 04:20 PM

Re: Unable to set 1680x1050 with DVI
 
ewigg,
I'd need to see a bug report to determine why the "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck" parameter failed to work.

thanks,
Lonni


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.