nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=87474)

rgifford 03-03-07 02:03 PM

X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
2 Attachment(s)
I am running kernel 2.6.19-1.2911.fc6 x86_64 with Nvidia 1.0-8776 drivers
(running a later version video driver causes my 1080i display to pan) and a Nvidia Geforce 7600GS video card.

When I load the module 'extmod', I get a black screen when I attempt to watch live TV or a pre-recorded video in MythTV. Without extmod the frame rate is rather poor but the system is stable.

I am including a copy of the nvidia bug report having run startx -- -logverbose 6 prior to the crash. note: I did have to remote into the box to run the script as all local consoles hang.

my mythfrontend.log reports the following error: NVP: Timed out waiting for free video buffers. From what I could find others experienced these problems using XvMC excelleration. I don't have that enabled either. Any help/ideas would be greatly appreciated.

I am running a dual core proc and have verified that I am not using MMCONFIG and I do have the most recent MOBO bios updates.

I have also attempted disabling one proc via my bios to see it that would make a difference, but it still hangs.

netllama 03-04-07 11:20 AM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
1.0-8776 is no longer supported. Does this problem persist with 1.0-9746?
Have you verified that you're using the latest motherboard BIOS?

rgifford 03-04-07 02:42 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
Netllama,
Thanks for the response.

I am running the latest motherboard bios.

I have been unsuccessful in getting 1080i resolution with later drivers than 8776. I have not tried the 1.0-9746 driver. I will give it a shot and let you know my results.

rgifford 03-04-07 04:32 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
Netllama,
I updated my video driver to 1.0-9746. I also pathced my kernel to 2.6.19-1.2911.6.4.fc6. It is no longer hanging, but my x resolution is messed up I can only view the top half of the 1080i screen using my old xorg.conf config.

OR I can remove the following line and my display is limitted to 720p resolution.

Previously I had added the following line to get 1080i to work:
#Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"

Appreciate your help, thanks!

netllama 03-04-07 04:52 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni

rgifford 03-04-07 11:39 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
2 Attachment(s)
Lonnie,
I am running exactly as it was after the video driver upgrade. Screen is oversized only the top half displays @ 1080i (appears to be panning). If I bring up nvidia-settings the display settings show a large rectangle with another half its size inside of it at the top. Not sure this information tells you anything you can't already figure out from the other information. :)

(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Validation Overrides for TSB-TV (DFP-0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): NoVertRefreshCheck

(II) NVIDIA(0): --- Building ModePool for TSB-TV (DFP-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 540 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2008
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2052, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 540, 542
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 547, 562
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): Extra : Interlace
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

(II) NVIDIA(0): --- Modes in ModePool for TSB-TV (DFP-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select" : 1920 x 1080 @ 120.1 Hz Interlace (from: EDID)

if I take out the over ride: NoVertRefreshCheck
The 1920 x 1080i mode is marked as invalid. . . .And it displays at 720p resolution.

This same hardware configuration works fine in Windows XP and the Nvidia driver allows me to correct for overscan, but then I really don't want to run windows. :o (

I started with logverbose level 6 and ran the nvidia bug report, please find the file attached.

Thanks,

Rob

netllama 03-05-07 11:44 AM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
Does requesting a 1920x1080_120i_0 mode in xorg.conf change the behavior ?

rgifford 03-05-07 08:35 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
1 Attachment(s)
Lonnie,
Same results. See attached log file.

netllama 03-05-07 09:28 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
What kind of TV are you using?

rgifford 03-06-07 12:02 AM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
Lonnie,
It is a Toshiba DLP 62HM195 via DVI to HDMI.

There is a similar discussion in this same forum here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=83670

To me it appears to be a driver bug since the 1.0-8776 driver did display at 1080i and now with the latest driver it won't. Also, the same hardware, TV and video card work great under Windows XP. Looking forward to your response.

Thanks,

-Rob

rgifford 03-08-07 01:12 AM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
1 Attachment(s)
I finally got this figured out.

The vertical sync values were not displaying as interlaced so I doubled their values. The commented out line below shows my previous EDID values in a modeline and the line below shows the working doubled vertical values.

#ModeLine "1920x1080i" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562 +Hsync +Vsync Interlace

ModeLine "1920x1080i" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +Hsync +Vsync Interlace

Something most certainly changed between the 1.0-8776 driver and later drivers because this is different behavior. . . .And most definately, a different configuration.

Thanks,

Rob

jesse0 08-23-07 04:37 PM

Re: X hangs w/ 1.0-8776 and extmod
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rgifford
ModeLine "1920x1080i" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 +Hsync +Vsync Interlace

I have a geforce 8400GS, display is a Toshiba 62HM15A TV and this almost works for me. I get a desktop which is 1920x1080 in size, but the display is still in 1280x720. I have to use

Code:

Options "NoVertRefreshCheck, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
It looks terrible so I went back to 720p. Can you confirm that your TV is actually in 1080i?

I'll have more info when I get home.

Jesse.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.