nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Overclocking advice! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=87531)

ATOJAR 03-04-07 05:17 PM

Overclocking advice!
 
Hi, ive had my conroe for afew weeks now and ive manages to get it to 2.99GHz.... if i go any higher than this my system fails to boot and i have to reset the bios and start again!..... in the bios i change the overclocking feature to manual and up the fsb untill i get to my current speeds.... i leave everything else on the auto setting because im not really sure what to change in the bios with my new board(see the sig).... with my old amd 939 board a asus a8n sli se i could change the cpu multiplyer, hypertransport technology & volts ect to get my desired overclock however this new intel 775 board all the bios setting are different... could anybody give me a few pointer in overclocking alittle more?... at the moment my cpu sits idle at 40c-43c... whats safe idle/load temps for a E6600?

BTW my system is air cooled.

Thanks.

gulizard 03-05-07 04:30 AM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Mine is at 3.0GHz and stock voltage. Idles around 40c, and the digital temp of it is 50c per core. Now sure how good that is.

2.8GHz is pretty good for that board, I guess. I am not familiar with the CPU yet. So I haven't learned much. I know it runs stable so far. I am not sure on the shut off temp of these, and safe temps as far as each core goes.

I figured i'd post I know it can be. I had like 100's of questions to ask.

Hopefully someone will help me an you both with our questions.

aRPiuM 03-06-07 12:11 AM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
I've had my e6600 around 3 months now and have had it stead at 3.5 on air and now on water.
On air my temps were in the mid to high 40's but climbed to 60+ fairly easily, after going to h2o my temps have a higher idle (~47 on ntune and ~56 on TAT) but on the water the temps do not vary much, 20 minutes of orthos doesnt seem to budge the temps more than 1-3 degrees.

so far i've been able to keep my vcore below 1.5

hirantha 03-22-07 06:11 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
my comp is doing hang ups BSOD and random reboots, and my FSB is at 334 its a intel 6700.. do any of you guys know what Vcore should i apply? i have it at v1.3 right now

SlieTheSecond 03-22-07 06:19 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Is your ram overclocked also? If so that may be the source of instability.

I would suggest the voltages of the cpu not being enough tho.

Your cpu is rated 60.1c. If you want to be on the safe side. I wouldn't go past 56c on a large ffts orthos test.

Until you hit that, your good to go.

For my E6400 to be stable at 3.4ghz I need around 1.42v

hirantha 03-22-07 06:29 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
Is your ram overclocked also? If so that may be the source of instability.

I would suggest the voltages of the cpu not being enough tho.

Your cpu is rated 60.1c. If you want to be on the safe side. I wouldn't go past 56c on a large ffts orthos test.

Until you hit that, your good to go.

For my E6400 to be stable at 3.4ghz I need around 1.42v

yeah RAM is just at 1002Mhz.. i have the voltage for that at 2.25....its starting get annoying with the hang ups...

my cpu is at not more than 35c...

$n][pErMan 03-22-07 06:39 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hirantha
my comp is doing hang ups BSOD and random reboots, and my FSB is at 334 its a intel 6700.. do any of you guys know what Vcore should i apply? i have it at v1.3 right now

My motherboard ups the voltage for my overclock on its own... when I try to manually set it lower the system will not post. So I assume it needs the voltage it picks for itself :p I am currently running my E6600 @ 3.02Ghz (334x9) with 1.400v Core. Idles at 35c... after about 3 hours of prime95 the highest CPU temperature was 50c. I can probabaly got much higher and I probably will :) I just built the system yesterday so temps will only get lower once the AC5 kicks in :D I must say.. I am extremely pleased with this chip and system :D

hirantha 03-22-07 06:49 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
My motherboard ups the voltage for my overclock on its own... when I try to manually set it lower the system will not post. So I assume it needs the voltage it picks for itself :p I am currently running my E6600 @ 3.02Ghz (334x9) with 1.400v Core. Idles at 35c... after about 3 hours of prime95 the highest CPU temperature was 50c. I can probabaly got much higher and I probably will :) I just built the system yesterday so temps will only get lower once the AC5 kicks in :D I must say.. I am extremely pleased with this chip and system :D

oh nice! maybe i should try bringing my v to 1.4.. lets see if that would stabalize the system
whats your RAM v at?

SlieTheSecond 03-22-07 07:44 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Well here is a list of peoples overclocks and what voltages they needed to get it.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread....2&page=1&pp=20

As you can tell by looking at the charts. Voltages are all over the place. No two CPU's are equal. Just like snowflakes :)

They go through revisions, fabrication isn't 100%, etc.

We can guess at what you would need to be stable. And I would say around 1.4. But it is only a guess. The only way for you to know is to try it. You may need more, may need less. May have gone as far as you can. But I doubt you have gone as far as you can.

Also your other components can hinder your overclock.
Make sure you lock the PCI at 100mhz and Sync at 33mhz.

hirantha 03-22-07 10:14 PM

Re: Overclocking advice!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
Well here is a list of peoples overclocks and what voltages they needed to get it.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread....2&page=1&pp=20

As you can tell by looking at the charts. Voltages are all over the place. No two CPU's are equal. Just like snowflakes :)

They go through revisions, fabrication isn't 100%, etc.

We can guess at what you would need to be stable. And I would say around 1.4. But it is only a guess. The only way for you to know is to try it. You may need more, may need less. May have gone as far as you can. But I doubt you have gone as far as you can.

Also your other components can hinder your overclock.
Make sure you lock the PCI at 100mhz and Sync at 33mhz.

yeah my machine when koo-koo when i up the PCIE so its at auto, but now the Processor is at v1.37, it looks good, *cross my fingers* didnt hang up yet. (for about 3 hours that is)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.