nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   6800 GT Boot up text (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=87598)

geezer 03-05-07 06:51 PM

6800 GT Boot up text
 
I've just upgraded from an mx420 to a 6800 GT and I notice that when I boot the pc there is no info on the screen about the vid card. With the mx I used to get some text about name of card and memory iirc.

Is this normal for a 6800 to not show that? I've got a suspiscion that the bios may have been changed so I was wondering if that could cause it.

rev. 03-05-07 08:04 PM

Re: 6800 GT Boot up text
 
Most newer cards dont show that at boot up. My FX5500 at the office does show the GFX, but none of my cards newer than that do.

Joe Public 03-20-07 08:25 AM

Re: 6800 GT Boot up text
 
My Aopen 6800GT shows pre-POST info. But not all cards may be alike as mentioned.

jimmor 03-25-07 09:28 AM

Re: 6800 GT Boot up text
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by geezer
I've just upgraded from an mx420 to a 6800 GT and I notice that when I boot the pc there is no info on the screen about the vid card. With the mx I used to get some text about name of card and memory iirc.

Is this normal for a 6800 to not show that? I've got a suspiscion that the bios may have been changed so I was wondering if that could cause it.

The bootup message you mention is a standard function of your VGA cards bios !

To enable or disable (or even have your own personal bootup message displayed) simply requires modding the 6800gt's bios with a nvidia vga bios editor like NiBiTor 3.3 linked below.

http://www.mvktech.net/component/opt...07332dfb868ef/

;)

Bman212121 03-25-07 11:18 PM

Re: 6800 GT Boot up text
 
It's even possible that it is showing up, but your screen doesn't turn on fast enough to see it. I've had that happen on a few cards, even though I know it was displaying something on another monitor.

Greeno 03-26-07 11:12 AM

Re: 6800 GT Boot up text
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bman212121
It's even possible that it is showing up, but your screen doesn't turn on fast enough to see it. I've had that happen on a few cards, even though I know it was displaying something on another monitor.

+1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.