nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Changing screen resolution to 1400x900 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88444)

Roger D 03-20-07 04:22 AM

Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
Hi

When I installed 60.06, on my new PC it correctly detected my Samsung 1280x1024 monitor. Now I want to switch to a new monitor with a resolution of 1400x900.

I've integrated Nvidia GeForce 6150 graphics on my motherboard. I've installed the drivers via Automatix. I'm sure this has worked, because Nvidia settings appears under Applications>System tools, and I can play the 3D game Briquolo. I was using my old Samsung monitor when I downloaded the drivers using Automatix, but I don't think this would make any difference.

I've tried running sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg, but get the message "No X server known for your video hardware", which seems a bit unlikely, so I tried editing my xorg.conf file. Here's the relevant section of the amended file:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "SAMSUNG"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30-80
VertRefresh 56-75
# 1400x900 @ 75.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 70.50 kHz; pclk: 132.54 MHz
Modeline "1400x900_75.00" 132.54 1400 1488 1640 1880 900 901 904 940 -HSync +Vsync

EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Generic Video Card"
Monitor "SAMSUNG"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubsection

My new monitor, which seems to be some sort of generic brand, has a horizontal frequency 30-80MHz and a vertial refresh rate of 56-75 Hz.

So, I far as I can tell, the xorg.conf file is now right. The monitor brand name is wrong, but I can't see this making any difference.

Unfortunately, this changes haven't made any difference. The resolution is still 1280x1024. And, yes, I did Ctl+Alt+backspace to reboot my PC

The Nvidia settings window looks as though it might be useful, but I can't see how I'd use it to change the screen resolution.

All advice much appreciated.

Best regards

Roger D

netllama 03-20-07 11:47 AM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
I'd suggest removing your custom modeline, and reading here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678

Roger D 03-20-07 03:36 PM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
Many thanks for responding.

Sorry to sound ignorant, but what is my custome mode line, and what's wrong with it? I have been carefully following other postings on this problem.

Regards

Roger D

netllama 03-20-07 04:00 PM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
This is your custom modeline:
Modeline "1400x900_75.00" 132.54 1400 1488 1640 1880 900 901 904 940 -HSync +Vsync

Roger D 03-21-07 01:13 PM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
I've deleted the custom modeline, but I'm afraid it still isn't working.

Any other suggestions please?

Best regards

Roger D

blargh 03-21-07 02:36 PM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
Try using nvidia-xconfig to configure your drivers.

And are you sure its a 1400x900 and not 1440x900?

netllama 03-21-07 03:00 PM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
Please post a new bug report.

Roger D 03-21-07 03:49 PM

Re: Changing screen resolution to 1400x900
 
I feel a total idiot, but, yes, it's 1440x900, and not 1400x900.

In the oxrg.conf file with the deleted custom mode line I replaced all instances of 1400 by 1440. Ctl+Alt+backspace gave me a screen resolution of 1440x1024, and I then used System>preferences>screen resolution to select 1440x900.

Thanks for all your help and patience.

Best regards

Roger D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.