nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   nvidia-settings bug (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=88620)

DiThi 03-23-07 04:20 PM

nvidia-settings bug
 
Hi, I don't know where to report this, I hope here is OK.

The nvidia-settings program doesn't load the .nvidia-settings-rc file if the locale settings for the decimal separator is comma instead of period. It saves the file with period-decimal float values, and try to read it with comma decimal separators:

Code:

$ nvidia-settings -l

ERROR: Error parsing configuration file '/home/dithi/.nvidia-settings-rc' on line 36: '0/RedBrightness=-0.104294' (Trailing garbage).

I use kubuntu 6.10 with kernel 2.6.17 with this apt repository for nvidia drivers:
I think it doesn't happen with lastest restricted ubuntu drivers in the official repo, but I'm not sure.

As workaround I manually replaced the periods with commas.

Best regards

netllama 03-23-07 04:29 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
Does this problem persist with the version of nvidia-settings that ships with the 1.0-9755 driver? If so, please attach the ~/.nvidia-settings-rc file which reproduces this problem.

thanks,
Lonni

labba 03-23-07 05:25 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
1 Attachment(s)
Same problem here:
Code:

ERROR: Error parsing configuration file '/home/markus/.nvidia-settings-rc' on line 37:
      '0/RedBrightness=0.000000' (Trailing garbage).

I am using the latest version of nvidia-settings. ~/.nvidia-settings.rc is attached.

netllama 03-23-07 07:04 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
Thanks. I've reproduced this problem and opened bug 300691.

-Lonni

zander 04-03-07 09:13 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
Please post the complete environments in which you run `nvidia-settings` (i.e. the output of `env).

labba 04-04-07 07:00 AM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
Hi zander,
here the outpout of env:
Code:

MANPATH=/usr/local/share/man:/usr/share/man:/usr/share/binutils-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/2.16.1/man:/usr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.1/man:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/man:/etc/java-config/system-vm/man/:/usr/lib/php5/man/:/usr/kde/3.5/share/man:/usr/qt/3/doc/man
KDE_MULTIHEAD=false
DM_CONTROL=/var/run/xdmctl
TERM=xterm
SHELL=/bin/bash
XDM_MANAGED=/var/run/xdmctl/xdmctl-:0,maysd,mayfn,sched,rsvd,method=classic
GTK2_RC_FILES=/home/blub/.gtkrc-2.0:/home/blub/.kde/share/config/gtkrc-2.0:/etc/gtk-2.0/gtkrc
GTK_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk/gtkrc:/home/blub/.gtkrc:/home/blub/.kde3.5/share/config/gtkrc
GS_LIB=/home/blub/.fonts
WINDOWID=27263131
QTDIR=/usr/qt/3
LC_ALL=de_DE@euro
ANT_HOME=/usr/share/ant
KDE_FULL_SESSION=true
USER=blub
PRELINK_PATH_MASK=/usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10
GDK_USE_XFT=1
SESSION_MANAGER=local/lumpen:/tmp/.ICE-unix/6781
_JAVA_OPTIONS=-Dswing.aatext=true
DCOP_YAKUAKE_SESSION=0
MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1
XPSERVERLIST=
VMHANDLE=sun-jdk-1.4
PAGER=/usr/bin/less
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK=/etc/java-config/vms/ /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/php/cli-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/apache1-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/ /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/web2c /etc/revdep-rebuild
AUDIODEV=default
FLTK_DOCDIR=/usr/share/doc/fltk-1.1.6/html
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/usr/kde/3.5/etc/xdg
KONSOLE_DCOP=DCOPRef(yakuake,konsole)
DESKTOP_SESSION=kde-3.5
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.1.1:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/bin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/bin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/javaws:/usr/kde/3.5/bin:/usr/qt/3/bin:/usr/kde/3.3/bin:/usr/kde/3.5/bin:/usr/games/bin:/opt/limewire
KONSOLE_DCOP_SESSION=DCOPRef(yakuake,session-1)
DISTCC_LOG=
PWD=/home/blub
JAVA_HOME=/home/blub/.gentoo/java-config-2/current-user-vm
GENERATION=2
EDITOR=/bin/nano
JAVAC=/home/blub/.gentoo/java-config-2/current-user-vm/bin/javac
LANG=de_DE@euro
QMAKESPEC=linux-g++
KDEDIRS=/usr/kde/3.5:/usr:/usr/local
PS1=\[\033[01;32m\]\u\[\033[01;33m\]@\[\033[01;31m\]\h \[\033[01;34m\](\w)\[\033[01;32m\]\$ \[\033[00m\]
DISTCC_VERBOSE=0
DCCC_PATH=/usr/lib/distcc/bin
JDK_HOME=/home/blub/.gentoo/java-config-2/current-user-vm
SHLVL=2
HOME=/home/blub
LANGUAGE=de_DE@euro
XCURSOR_THEME=none
PYTHONPATH=/usr/lib/portage/pym
LESS=-R -M --shift 5
G_FILENAME_ENCODING=ISO-8859-15
LOGNAME=blub
GCC_SPECS=
CVS_RSH=ssh
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share:/usr/kde/3.5/share:/usr/local/share
CLASSPATH=.
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:abstract=/tmp/dbus-fDsyAkVHj5,guid=db8b96920fbcf93ad7deff0046137f71
PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/qt/3/lib/pkgconfig
LESSOPEN=|lesspipe.sh %s
INFOPATH=/usr/share/info:/usr/share/binutils-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/2.16.1/info:/usr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.1/info
DISPLAY=:0
RUBYOPT=-rauto_gem
OPENGL_PROFILE=nvidia
G_BROKEN_FILENAMES=1
CONFIG_PROTECT=/usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown
COLORTERM=
_=/usr/bin/env


zander 04-07-07 11:02 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
Thanks; what does the output of `locale` look like?

labba 04-08-07 03:40 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
The output of locale:
Code:

LANG=de_DE@euro
LC_CTYPE="de_DE@euro"
LC_NUMERIC="de_DE@euro"
LC_TIME="de_DE@euro"
LC_COLLATE="de_DE@euro"
LC_MONETARY="de_DE@euro"
LC_MESSAGES="de_DE@euro"
LC_PAPER="de_DE@euro"
LC_NAME="de_DE@euro"
LC_ADDRESS="de_DE@euro"
LC_TELEPHONE="de_DE@euro"
LC_MEASUREMENT="de_DE@euro"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="de_DE@euro"
LC_ALL=de_DE@euro


zander 04-09-07 12:06 AM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
5 Attachment(s)
@labba: could you check if the attached nvidia-settings binary works better (be sure to remove any existing nvidia-settings configuration files, first)?

I had to split the binary up due to the forum's file size constraints. To reconstruct it, use:
# for i in nvidia-settings.*.zip; do unzip $i; done
# rm nvidia-settings.*.zip
# cat nvidia-settings.a* >> nvidia-settings
# rm nvidia-settings.a*
# chmod +x ./nvidia-settings

zander 04-09-07 12:07 AM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
5 Attachment(s)
...

labba 04-09-07 06:36 AM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
Hi zander,

thanks for the improved nvidia-settings tool. The new version seems to work without problems! :)

Another question: Is it normal that the screen turns black for about 1,5 sec if I change the "force GPU scaling" setting? Is this going to be fixed?

AaronP 04-09-07 01:01 PM

Re: nvidia-settings bug
 
labba,
Currently, changing the "force GPU scaling" option forces a complete reinitialization of the display, meaning your display has to re-sync. There are plans to fix that (when the "native" and "best fit" resolutions are the same, that is) in some future driver release, though not the next one.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.