nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   CPUs, Motherboards And Memory (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   memory failure reason announced (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=89354)

kevJ420 04-06-07 11:25 AM

memory failure reason announced
 
http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=5176

OK, see the link to this article.

I'm confused.

What do I set my RAM voltage to now?

DRen72 04-06-07 12:53 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Interesting. I wonder what brands of RAM may be effected by this. Need more info.

kevJ420 04-06-07 01:48 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Responses from everyone are needed dearly=)

buffbiff21 04-06-07 01:59 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevpla1@cox.net
[url]

What do I set my RAM voltage to now?

what RAM do you currently possess?

kevJ420 04-06-07 02:03 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by buffbiff21
what RAM do you currently possess?

Crucial Ballistix 5300.

Madpistol 04-06-07 06:47 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
2.4V???? On DDR2??? That's madness!

Most people are in the clear if they don't jack up their ram voltage. Stock on my Corsair XMS2 800mhz is 2.1V, and it's been rock solid. I wouldn't dare push the voltage past that.

|MaguS| 04-06-07 06:49 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Madpistol
2.4V???? On DDR2??? That's madness!

Most people are in the clear if they don't jack up their ram voltage. Stock on my Corsair XMS2 800mhz is 2.1V, and it's been rock solid. I wouldn't dare push the voltage past that.

Madness?! This is Guru3d!

Madpistol 04-06-07 07:03 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Madness?! This is Guru3d!

Good Point. ;)

vandalous 04-06-07 07:18 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
There's some very emotional threads at EVGA's support boards regarding memory, voltage, and the 680i board. I'm sure jakup or russianhaxor could fill you in as they've been quite busy there. ;)

I run mine at 2.1V, which is the recommended voltage for 1066.

buffbiff21 04-06-07 07:20 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevpla1@cox.net
Crucial Ballistix 5300.

Bro, I dont think ANY 667 mhz ram requires 2.4 vdimm :POKE:

What vdimm should you set them at? depends on how much you want to up your FSB speed... Try them at stock v, and then bump up if they fail stability.

buffbiff21 04-06-07 07:22 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vandalous
I run mine at 2.1V, which is the recommended voltage for 1066.

You must have got an incredible batch of Promo circuit chips....

1066 on that RAM, with cl4.... is unheard of...

vandalous 04-06-07 07:54 PM

Re: memory failure reason announced
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by buffbiff21
You must have got an incredible batch of Promo circuit chips....

1066 on that RAM, with cl4.... is unheard of...

Yay! I wuvs my OC rig even more then... my ES Q6600 is mutiplier unlocked and my memory OC's like a mofo. Sweet. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.